.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour




The Tour-Type Modifieds and quarter-mile race tracks have a long history of providing some of the best racing in the history of these open-wheeled race cars. During this 2012 race season three of those races will have added significance thanks to a small group of Modified supporters who have helped create a brand new goal for race teams competing on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and beyond.

In the first annual, "Modified Maniac Triple Crown Series" one Modified driver or car owner with the best combined average finish in the May 12 WMT Monadnock (N.H.) 200, the June 16 SBM 125 Modified Open at the Star (N.H.) Speedway, and the July 28 Buzz Chew Chevy-Cadillac Night 200 at the Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway will pocket a minimum of $1,380.

Contributions for this award have been made by race fans Jim Schaefer and Bruce Batcha, along with Eric Sanderson, owner of the Ryan Preece driven number 16 WMT entry, and the Star Speedway. This award, to be presented at the conclusion of the July 28 Riverhead event, with cash and a trophy, could still grow further if more contributions are made.

Preece, who will run his family owned car at Star, Todd Szegedy, Daniel Hemric, Mike Stefanik and Doug Coby are among the early favorites to earn the award, given to the driver and/or car owner that records the best combined average finish from these three special events.

"I hope this is just a starting point for this award," stated organizer Jim Schaefer. "The quarter-mile tracks are what I grew up watching, so these races are the ones I look forward to the most."

For more information concerning this award, and eligibility requirements, please email: StarPress2012@aol.com. Any updated award total will be announced before the May 12 WMT event at the Monadnock Speedway.

  Source: Kevin Rice / Modified Maniac Triple Crown Series
Posted: April 16, 2012

2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.