.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Takes Checkered Flag In Whelen Modified Race At Bristol

Ron Silk took a big step toward getting a chance to defend his NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship Wednesday with a win in the UNOH Perfect Storm 150.

It was Silk's second win of the season and first in the annual combination race between the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour on the track known as "The World's Fastest Half Mile." It was also the first victory for a driver running a NASCAR-approved SPEC motor on either Modified tour.

Todd Szegedy finished second, followed by Ryan Preece, Justin Bonsignore and Ron Yuhas Jr.

George Brunnhoelzl III was the top finishing NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver in sixth. The tour's points leader is credited with a win, his fourth straight and fifth overall. It was the second time he’s been the highest-finishing south driver in four all-time Bristol events.

Silk's finish combined with a late-race accident involving Whelen Modified Tour points leader Doug Coby allowed Silk to cut 14 points off Coby's lead. With five races left, the advantage is down to 27 as Coby's run of seven straight top-three finishes ended with a 17th-place finish.

Earlier in the day, Silk won the Coors Light Pole Award, but for the majority of the race Szegedy was the class of the field with a race-high 80 laps led. During a caution on Lap 127, while in the race lead, made Szegedy contact with Silk and spun out.

“I’m pretty sure I held the bottom, I haven’t seen video of it, but I know I had the thing down as far as I could,” Silk said. “We made contact and he went around, which I hate to see for him, and I’m glad to see he finished second because that’s how good his car was.

“From there it was kind of clear sailing, just staying clear of lap traffic, but it definitely feels good to get a win here,” Silk said.

Szegedy made a mad dash in the closing laps to make it up to second, but ran out of time to catch up to Silk.

“My plan was to go to the outside and I was going to bring it home wrecked or a win,” Szegedy said of his post-spin strategy. “So at that point it was just pass as many cars as I could. I needed five more laps and I could have got him.”

In four Bristol race Szegedy has now posted consecutive finishes of sixth, fourth, third and second.

Rookie Danny Bohn was seventh, followed by Ken Heagy, Thomas Stinson and rookie Michael Speeney.
Brunnhoelzl leads Bohn by 52 points in the Whelen Southern Modified Tour standings with four races remaining.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Ryan Newman, who won the last two Bristol events, was involved in an accident in the opening laps and ended up 19th overall.

The UNOH Perfect Storm 150, which aired live on SPEED, was slowed by eight cautions for 54 laps and two red flags, including a 13-car pile-up on the frontstretch on Lap 3.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will return to the track Sept. 9 at Thompson (Conn.) International Speedway for the Town Fair Tire 75, while the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will race Sept. 1 in the Langley 150 at Langley Speedway in Hampton, Va.

NASCAR WHELEN 'COMBINED' - UNOH Perfect Storm "150" Results
Wednesday At Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol TN

  Lap length:
0.53 miles
  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (1) Ron Silk, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, 150 laps, 62.299 mph.
  2.   (3) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield, Conn., Ford, 150.
  3.   (6) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Ford, 150.
  4. (12) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  5. (22) Ron Yuhas, Jr., Groton, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  6. (10) George Brunnhoelzl III, West Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  7. (31) Danny Bohn, Freehold, N.J., Chevrolet, 150.
  8. (29) Ken Heagy, Calverton, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  9. (35) Tom Stinson, Chester, Va., Chevrolet, 150.
10. (33) Michael Speeney, Newtown, Pa., Chevrolet, 150.
11. (27) Jonny Kievman, Deerfield Beach, Fl., Chevrolet, 150.
12.   (5) Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, Mass., Pontiac, 149.
13.   (8) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 149.
14. (25) Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, Pa., Chevrolet, 147.
15.   (9) Bryon Chew, Mattituck, N.Y., Chevrolet, 147.
16. (34) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 146.
17. (13) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 138.
18. (30) Eric Berndt, Cromwell, Conn., Chevrolet, 138.
19.   (7) Ryan Newman, South Bend, In., Chevrolet, 130.
20. (28) Jason Myers, Walnut Grove, N.C., Ford, 122.
21. (18) Eric Beers, Northampton, Pa., Ford, 119.
22. (16) Cole Powell, Mtn. Brydges, Ontario, Chevrolet, 116, accident.
23.   (2) Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y., Dodge, 116.
24. (20) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 114, accident.
25. (11) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Chevrolet, 108.
26.   (4) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 105, accident.
27. (32) Ed Flemke, Jr., Southiington, Conn., Chevrolet, 101, accident.
28. (23) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 101.
29. (15) Frank Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., Ford, 56.
30. (26) Gary Fountain Sr., Minneola, Fla., Chevrolet, 49, accident.
31. (36) Wade Cole, Riverton, Conn., Chevrolet, 24.
32. (14) Burt Myers, Walnut Grove, N.C., Ford, 3, accident.
33. (24) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I., Ford, 3, accident.
34. (19) Rowan Pennick, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 3, accident.
35. (21) John Smith, Mount Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 3, accident.
36. (17) Tim Brown, Cana, Va., Chevrolet, 3, accident.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
1 hour 16 minutes 34 seconds
Margin of Victory: .864 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: R.Silk (126.634 mph, 15.067 seconds)
Caution Flags: 8 for 54 laps.
Lead Changes: 4 among 3 drivers.
Lap Leaders: R. Silk 0; T. Szegedy 1-12; T. Christopher 13-58; T. Szegedy 59-126; R. Silk 127-150.

Top 10 NWMT Driver Standings: Doug Coby 383, Ron Silk 356, Ryan Preece 336, Todd Szegedy 314, Donny Lia 312, Jimmy Blewett 312, Justin Bonsignore 294, Eric Beers 292, Ted Christopher 291, Mike Stefanik 290.

Top 10 NWSMT Driver Standings: George Brunnhoelzl III 314, Danny Bohn 262, Jason Myers 258, Tim Brown 241, Kyle Ebersole 239, Burt Myers 238, Frank Fleming 230, Andy Seuss 224, Speeney 223, L.W. Miller 221.

  Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
Posted: August 22, 2012

©2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.