.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Fans Can Vote For Favorite Drivers Through Nov.18

While the championship battles have been settled in four of the seven NASCAR regional touring series, the winner for each of the series’ Most Popular Driver Award are still very much up for grabs.

Most Popular Driver voting has already surpassed last year’s record level – with more than 140,000 votes cast online at NASCAR.com since balloting opened in August.

It’s not too late for fans to put their support behind their favorite driver – as they can vote once a day, every day through Nov. 18. The outcome was not decided until the final month of voting in several series a year ago.

The two closest races are in the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1, where Ray Courtemanche Jr. has the edge over Isabelle Tremblay, and the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, in which Ryan Preece leads nine-time NASCAR champion Mike Stefanik.

The largest turnout of overall votes, meanwhile, is in the Euro-Racecar Series – which in its inaugural season under the NASCAR banner has attracted more than 68,000 votes. Two drivers have dominated the voting in that series, with Freddy Nordstrom ahead of Romain Thievin.

Two NASCAR K&N Pro Series drivers known for their social media effort, particularly in engaging fans on Twitter, are leading their respective divisions. Chase Elliott is ahead in the voting in the K&N Pro Series East for the second straight year, while Cassie Gannis leads the K&N Pro Series West balloting.

The biggest runaway in balloting so far is in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, where this year’s Sunoco Rookie of the Year, Danny Bohn is dominating.

In the NASCAR Toyota Series, meanwhile, Pepe Montaño holds a substantial lead over Jorge Contreras Jr. and Rodrigo Marban.

The balloting is hosted on www.nascarhometracks.com for each of NASCAR's developmental series – the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East (Twitter hashtag: #KNEast) and West (#KNWest), NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (#NWMT), NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour (#NWSMT), NASCAR Canadian Tire Series (#NCATS), NASCAR Toyota Series (#NTSMx) and Euro-Racecar Series (#EuroRC).

All seven Most Popular Driver Award winners will be recognized at the NASCAR Night of Champions Touring Awards on Dec. 8 at the Charlotte (N.C.) Convention Center's Crown Ballroom in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

This marks the fifth consecutive year in which fans have voted online for the Most Popular Driver of the Year Award.

  Source: Kevin Green / NASCAR
Posted: October 24, 2012

©2012 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.