.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Steve Masse of Bellingham, Massachusetts won the hotly-contested 100-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series feature at the Waterford Speedbowl on Sunday afternoon. It was the first race in an aggressive 2013 schedule for the successful touring series, which is celebrating its 10th Anniversary.

The century-distance grind was the centerpiece of the Connecticut speedplant’s 2013 Budweiser Blast-Off weekend.

Pole sitter Max Zachem led a 26-car field to green, but it was Louie Mechalides quickly assuming the point during the early circuits. With 77-laps remaining, a stout Richard Savary took command followed by Todd Annarummo.

Savary continued building a healthy lead until tangling with lapped traffic on the front- stretch and was forced pitside. He recovered to notch a respectable 11th-place.
Masse, who had come from deep into the field, entered the top-5 in the closing circuits making several bids for the lead. A fast-approaching Anthony Nocella, Rowan Pennink, and Mike Willis Jr followed him.
With only 3-circuits remaining he briefly slipped-by leader Annarummo just as the final caution waved, setting the stage for final a 2-lap dash.

Masse edged Annarummo for the win. Rounding-out the top-5 was Nocella, Pennink, and Mike Holdridge.

“We had a great car all-weekend; it was on rails,” stated Masse from victory lane. “The key was saving everything until the end. We were patient and it paid-off with the car being great when it-counted.”

Masse dedicated his win to the late Chuck Montville, a popular longtime car owner on the Valenti Modified Series trail who passed-away unexpectedly on April 4th.

Second-place finisher Annarummo may have had something for the winner, but driving too deep into the first-turn before the crucial final restart possibly halted his bid for victory. “I drove very-low into the turn trying to clean my tires right-before that last restart. I think I may have picked-up something up. The car wasn’t as-good after that.”

Scoring a third-place podium finish, Nocella was elated with his performance. “This is just awesome to finish in the top-3,” he said. “We decided to try this series last year, and really enjoy-it. To start the season like this is a huge plus. My family, crew, and sponsors worked really-hard to get me here, so this top-3 is for them also.”

The Valenti Modified Racing Series next visits New Hampshire’s Monadnock Speedway on Saturday evening, April 20th.
For more information visit us on the web at www.modifiedracingseries.com.
Race Summary:
Race # 1 Waterford Speedbowl
Distance: 100 laps
Time of Race: 52:54:559
Margin of Victory: 0.335
Best Lap Time: 14.085
Best Speed: 95.847 (Nocella)
Lead Changes: (3)
Lap Leaders: Mechalides (1-22) Savary (23-64 Annarummo (65-95) Masse (96-100)
Caution Laps: 14, 30, 64, 66, 72, 83, 98

VALENTI MODIFIED SERIES (100); 1. Steve Masse, Bellingham, MA., 2. Todd Annarummo, Swansea MA., 3. Anthony Nocella, Woburn, MA., 4. Rowan Pennink, Huntington Valley PA., 5. Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT., 6. Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro. MA., 7. Mike Willis Jr., Grantham NH., 8. Norm Wrenn, Nashua NH., 9. Dana Smith, Sunapee NH., 10. Keith Rocco, Meriden, CT., 11. Richard Savory, Canton, MA., 12. Jeff Pearl, Salem, CT., 13. Jacob Dore, Sanford ME., 14. Tom Barrett Jr., Millis MA., 15. Jeff Rocco, Meriden, CT., 16. Max Zachem, Preston, CT., 17. Arthur Heino Jr., Newport NH., 18. Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., 19. Dennis Charette, Southington, CT., 20. Dave Schneider, Northport NY., 21. Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, NH., 22. Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, NH., 23. Todd Owen, Somers, CT., 24. Dave Etheridge, Portland, CT., 25. Jim Dolan, Bethel, CT., 26. Timmy Jordan, Plainfield, CT.

  Source: David Dykes / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: April 7, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.