.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




The Valenti Modified Racing Series heads to Thompson Speedway this Sunday for the first of three appearances this year at the storied oval. A star-studded field of drivers is expected including defending champion, Jon McKennedy.

McKennedy will make his first start of the season in a Valenti Modified. His car owner, Art Barry, has been sidelined due to illness but he has improved enough to where he not only plans to field a car but fully intends to be at the track. ďIíve got enough guys to put a team together and Iím really looking forward to it,Ē said the long-time car owner.

The last time the Valenti Modified Racing Series was at Thompson was during the Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing last October. Rowan Pennink claimed the 75-lap victory and the current VMRS point leader will be looking for a repeat win. That, however, will be a tall order for the Pennsylvania driver who will face stiff competition from a host of extremely competitive VRMS race teams.

Steve Masse won the VRMS season opener and will be joined by such racing stars as Ted Christopher, Louie Mechalides, Tommy Barrett, Chris Pasteryak, Mike Holdridge, Todd Owen, Richard Savary and many more.

An autograph session with VMRS drivers has been scheduled for 3:45 Sunday afternoon. Fans are urged to bring an item to be autographed or they can select and ideal item at the trackís Race Day Apparel trailer or the photo booth. Cameras are also encouraged.

Thompsonís NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions will also be in competition. After his Icebreaker victory, Keith Rocco is the Sunoco Modified point leader. Veteran Kerry Malone sits second in the standings and he is followed by Woody Pitkat, Ryan Preece and Todd Ceravolo. The Sunoco Modifieds will be featured in a 30-lap main event.

Glenn Boss will lead the Late Model division and Cam McDermott heads the field of Lite Modifieds. The Xtra Mart Limited Sportsman point leader is four time champion Larry Barnett with the Monster Mini Stock division topped by Scott Michalski.

All of these drivers will be faced with tough competition from the many talented race teams and drivers in each of Thompsonís NASCAR Whelen All-American Series divisions

Grandstands open at 11 AM, practice at Noon and the first qualifying race of the day is set for shortly after 2 PM. The entire dayís schedule of events is posted on the Thompson web page www.thompsonspeedway.com.

  Source: Russ Dowd / Thompson International Speedway
Posted: May 16, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.