.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




18 year old Tommy Barrett Jr, of Millis Mass, notched his first win of the season Friday night winning the Valenti Modified Racing Series 80-lap feature race at Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford, CT. The win, Barrett’s fourth series victory, makes him the first driver to repeat at Stafford.

Barrett started outside front row in a 26-car lineup and gradually dropped back to fourth in the early stages of the race. Pole-sitter Keith Rocco, of Meriden, CT, led the first six laps, Berlin, CT’s Ryan Preece led for a dozen circuits until sidelined with mechanical problems, Dave Etheridge, of Portland, CT, was the driver to beat laps 23 through 59, when Barrett took the top position on a lap 59 restart.

From that point on, Barrett was in cruise control leading the final 20-laps for the win.

“ It feels good to be back here in victory lane at Stafford. Usually we come in and pit we save tires but tonight I was running up front. Before those couple of cautions I thought it might have gone green the whole race. Concentrated on catching the 34 (Etheridge) the car started coming in,” said Barrett in victory lane.

Barrett becomes the fourth different driver to win in 2013.

Steven Masse, of Bellingham, MA, made a late race charge to finish second, with Etheridge finishing an impressive third. Eric Goodale, of Wading River, NY was fourth, and Richard Savary checkered fifth.

Dan Meservey Jr, Eddy Spiers, Woody Pitkat, Norm Wrenn, and Louie Mechalides, rounded out the top ten.

Five caution flags, one for debris, slowed the race that was completed 40 minutes.

The 10th anniversary season continues Friday night, June 28, at Lee USA Speedway, Lee, NH. with the running of the “Laticrete Port City 100.”

Race No. 4 - Stafford Speedway
Entrants: 33 (26 starters)
Distance: 80 laps
Time of Race: 40:11:266
Margin of Victory: 0.4.91
Best Lap Time: 18.704 (Preese)
Lead Changes: 4 (among 3 drivers)
Lap Leaders: K.Rocco (1-6) Etheridge (7-10) Preece (11-22) Etheridge (34-59) Barrett (60-80)
Cautions: 5 cautions, on laps- 0, 20, 59, 71, 73
Heat Winners: K. Rocco, J.Rocco, Preese
Consi Winner: Christopher

Unofficial Order of Finish
(1) Barrett (2) Masse (3) Etheridge (4) Goodale (5) Savary (6) Meservey (7) Spiers (8) Pitkat (9) Wrenn (10) Mechalides (11) Pennink (12) Owen (13) Mead (14) Kopec (15) Bakaj (16) Nocella (17) Cates (18) Zachem (19) Smith (20) J Rocco (21) K. Rocco (22) Bolles (23) Preece (24) VanHouten (25) Christopher (26) Jordan

  Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: June 22, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.