.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




The hot summer schedule and 10th anniversary season continues this weekend, Saturday, July 20, when the Valenti Modified Racing Series returns to Oxford, Maine, for the 40th annual TD Bank 250 weekend. The series will be making its sixth appearance at Oxford in the last seven years.

In previous events, five different drivers have visited victory lane at the famed oval. Two are expected Saturday.

One is popular local favorite, David Pinkham of Buxton, expected to compete in the Tom Greeley owned # 22. Pinkham is a three-time series winner and the 2008 winner of the Oxford race.

Joe Doucette, of Framingham, MA, has run a limited schedule this season but will return to the site of his first and only series win. Doucette electrified the crowd in 2011 when on lap 97; he passed for the lead to a thunderous roar from the grandstands

Westbrook, ME, driver Tony Ricci, winner of two series races in 2006, is also expected.

Two-time series champion, Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT, will make the trip to Oxford. Pasteryak is coming off two consecutive second place finishes.

Jim Boniface, of Winchester, NH, Rob Goodenough, of Swanzey, NH,
Max Zachem, of Preston, CT, Mike Holdridge, of Madison, CT, and Steve Masse, of Bellingham, MA, are expected entries.

The July weather is not all thatís hot this week as the VMRS points standings are still close after last weeks race at Canaan.

Tommy Barrett (244) thanks to his Canaan win last week has opened an 18-point lead over Louie Mechalides (226) and Rowan Pennink, who are tied for second. Richard Savary is right behind (222). Norm Wrenn, of Nashua, NH, is currently fifth in the standings.

Barrett, of Millis, MA, is the only driver to repeat this season. Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, PA, and Mechalides, of Tyngsboro, MA, also have visited victory lane. All five top point men are expected to enter the Oxford race.

The first of three practice sessions will begin at 3:00 PM with qualifying heat races at 7:00 PM. The 100-lap green flag VMRS race is slated for a 9:00 PM start.

  Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 17, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.