.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Meriden, CT’s, Keith Rocco drove to victory Saturday night, August 10, winning the 100-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series feature at Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford. CT.

The win was Rocco’s second VMRS victory in 10 starts. His first was two years ago at Stafford Motor Speedway.

Rocco started fifth in a 26-car field, took the lead on lap eight from Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT., and was never headed. Rocco twice developed full straightaway leads only to be slowed by caution flags for minor spins or crashes.

Rowan Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA., made another late race charge from his 17th starting spot to finish runner-up.

Pasteryak enjoyed another strong third place finish. The two-time series champion never ran outside the top five.

Tommy Barrett, of Millis, MA, and 40-year veteran Dwight Jarvis, of Ascutney, VT, rounded out the top five finish. Barrett started sixth, and Jarvis came from 20th.

Sixth through tenth were, Steve Masse, Woody Pitkat, Richard Savary, Rob Goodenough, and Louie Mechalides.

Eight caution flags slowed the race including an opening lap crash knocking Ted Christopher from the event. Christopher suffered a minor thumb injury. “It is my left thumb, but its not too bad. Just like my right thumb I injured last Friday. Now they match,” Christopher said Sunday afternoon.

Heat winners; Annarummo, Pasteryak, K. Rocco, Wrenn won the 15-lap consolation race.

The 10th anniversary seasons continues next Saturday night with a stop at Seekonk (MA) Speedway.
The recently rained out race at Thompson (CT) Speedway has been rescheduled for Thursday, Aug 22.

Race No. 9 of 17- Waterford Speedbowl

32 (26 starters)
Distance: 100 laps
Time of Race: 1:08:37.507
Best Lap Time: 14:164 (K. Rocco)
Lead Changes: 2 (among 2 drivers)
Lap Leaders: Owen (1), Pasteryak (2-8), K. Rocco (9-100)
Cautions: 8 (Lap 0, 8, 43, 89, 91, 91, 95, 96)

Unofficial Order of Finish; (1) K. Rocco, (2) Pennink, (3) Pasteryak, (4) Barrett, (5) Jarvis, (6) Masse, (7) Pitkat, (8) Savary, (9) Goodenough, (10) Mechalides, (11) Kopec, (12) Smith, (13) Schneider, (14) Pearl, (15) Wrenn, (16) Zachem (17), Holdridge, (18) J. Rocco, (19) Nocella. (20) Annarummo, (21) Mead, (22) Owen, (23) Boniface, (24) Cates, (25) Christopher, (26) Bakaj DQ.

  Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: August 11, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.