.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Ryan Preece, of Berlin, CT, started outside front row, jumped into the lead, and was never headed as he won the 4th annual Lincoln Tech 80, Friday night, at Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford, CT.

Preece becomes the 10th different winner this season in 14 races and the third first-time series winner in 2013.

Preece received pressure early on from Ted Christopher, of Plainville CT. Christopher dropped out with mechanical problems during the only caution period on lap 34. From that point on it was all Preece to the checkered flag.

In victory lane Preece explained, “We haven’t had much luck here in the past few weeks. I can’t thank Mike Paquette enough for this CD (Chassis Dynamics) car. This is only the third race for this car. I can’t be more proud of my crew.”

When asked if he thought he might relinquish the lead Preece added, “when you have guys like Chris (Pasteryak) and Ted (Christopher) and Keith (Rocco) behind you, you want to set as fast a pace as you can but at the same time you don’t want to burn your stuff up. It was great. We did everything we needed. The car was right there.”

Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT, finished a solid second bouncing back from an 11th place finish two weeks ago “It was a little bit too free center off right from lap one. I kind of gave Ryan a free pass hoping for a yellow. It’s all right. Second is a good run. We’ll take it. A lot better than we were here two weeks ago.”

Canton, Ma, veteran Richard Savary turned in another strong run making a late race charge to finish third. “We knew we had to be patient. It’s unusual we thought they’d be a caution sooner or later and when it strung out they said I had to go. I was trying to gain as many spots as I could.

Tommy Barrett, of Millis, MA, made a late race charge of his own finishing fourth, followed by Rowan Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA, who was fifth.

Ken Barry, Dan Meservey Jr, Norm Wrenn, Dave Etheridge, and Max Zachem finished sixth through tenth.

Qualifying races were won by Christopher, Chris Pasteryak, and Steve Masse, with Wrenn winning the last chance consolation race

The race, completed in 37 minutes, only saw one caution flag on lap 34 involving Barrett and Bobby Drown.

26 cars started the race with 12 cars on the lead lap at the finish.

Next event is Saturday October 5, 2013 at Seekonk MA Speedway

Race No.14 of 17 - Stafford Motor Speedway
Entrants: 34 (26 starters)
Distance: 80-laps
Time of Race: 37:35.285
Best Lap Time: 18.560
Lead Changes: 0
Lap Leaders: 1-80 (Preece)
Cautions: 1 (lap 34)

Unofficial Order of Finish: (1) Preece, (2) Chris Pasteryak, (3) Savary, (4) Barrett, (5) Pennink, (6) Barry, (7) Meservey, (8) Wrenn, (9) Etheridge, (10) Zachem, (11) Mechalides, (12) Charlie Pasteryak, (13) J Rocco, (14) Goodenough, (15) Smith, (16) Drown, (17) Schneider, (18) Cates, (19) Kopec, (20) Masse, (21) Schofield, (22) K.Rocco, (23) Christopher, (24) Holdridge, (25) Bolles, (26) Owen

  Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: September 13, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.