.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series



Barrett Goes Back To Back At Lee

Tommy Barrett Jr, of Millis, MA, made a tire swap during a lap-55 caution period, then took the lead on lap-91, and went on to win his second consecutive Valenti Modified Racing Series sanctioned ‘Laticrete 100’at Lee USA Speedway Sunday afternoon.

Barrett becomes the first series driver to repeat victory at the New Hampshire tracks 26th annual ‘Oktoberfest’ program. He won last October’s race.

Matt Mead took the lead from the start and was the class of the field until Steve Masse rolled by on lap 55. Masse fast became the pace setter until Barrett reeled him in and passed Masse with 9-laps remaining. Barrett’s win, his third this season, is his 6th career VMRS victory.

Barrett’s successful strategy of a mid-race tire swap worked once again. “We always save tires at the beginning when we come here. We were banking on the pit stop at the half way. We did the double swap came back out and worked my way up through with Les Hinckley. The right front was giving out a little but once out front the car was fast.”

Masse settled for second with Jon McKennedy finishing in a solid third. Richard Savary and Hinckley rounded out the top five.

Mike Willis Jr., Louie Mechalides, Mike Holdridge, Rowan Pennink, and Norm Wrenn finished sixth through tenth.

Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA, nailed down the 2013 series championship with his ninth place finish. “I’ve got to give a huge thank you to this ‘Team 25’ they did an awesome job all season. Couldn’t have done it without any of these guys.”

Pennink wins the series 10th Anniversary title and the $10,000 check that goes with it at next month’s series banquet. For car owner Gary Casella, of Saugus, MA, it’s extra special. He was a driver/car-owner when the VMRS was started. He joins Kirk Alexander and Dwight Jarvis as the only series champions that were charter members of the series.
Barrett’s win moved him back into second place in the point standings with 574 points. Savary moved from fifth to third with 550 points. Mechalides has 545 points, in fourth, and Chris Pasteryak slipped back to fifth with 539.

The Lee race was completed in 45 minutes, 26 seconds with only four caution periods for minor incidents.

31 cars entered the Lee event with qualifying races on Saturday. Heat winners were Pennink, Holdridge, and Barrett, with Todd Owen winning the consolation race. 26 cars started Sunday’s race.

Rookie Dylan Kopec will receive the $200 Laticrete Rookie Bonus.

Next event: Saturday, October 20, at Thompson CT Speedway, the final race event of the 2013 season.

Race Summary:

Race No.16 of 17 - Lee USA Speedway
Entrants 31 (26 starters)
Distance: 100-laps
Time of Race: 45:26:596
Best Lap Time: 14.799
Best Speed: 91.222 (Masse)
Lead Changes: 2
Lap Leaders: 1-55 (Mead) 56-91 (Masse) 92-100 (Barrett)
Cautions: Laps 55, 59, 75, and 83

Unofficial Order of Finish: Barrett, Masse, McKennedy, Savary, Hinckley, Willis, Mechalides, Holdridge, Pennink, Wrenn, Zachem, Dolan, Owen, Kopec, Patnode, Pasteryak, Mead, Jarvis, Goodenough, Nocella, Seuss, Rocco, Dore, Doucette, Goodale, Storace (DQ) Pit Road Violation.

  Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified racing Series
Posted: October 14, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.