.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




Rowan Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA, was officially crowned series champion Saturday night as the Valenti Modified Racing Series closed out its 2013 campaign and 10th anniversary season. The event was held at Best Western Executive Inn, Manchester, NH.

Pennink and car owners Gary and Kim Casella were presented the series top honors for the first time.

Commemorating the series 10th season, Pennink and the Roscoe Racing/ Casella team were presented a check for $10,000 by series president and founder Jack Bateman.

Pennink becomes the VMRS fifth series champion, an honor that the Pennsylvania driver appreciates.

“I couldn’t be prouder to be the driver of the 25 car. It being the 10th anniversary of the series, driving for Gary and Kim Casella, Gary being with the series since it started, makes it a special year to win the championship.” Pennink added, “ I can’t thank them and all the guys on this team enough. I tell everyone 13 out of 17 races finishing in the top five is unthinkable, and that all goes to the guys on the crew. The car was prepared right every time we came to the racetrack and that’s what wins championships.”

After any championship the question always is, will the winning team make another run at a title the following season?

“I hope so,” Pennink said.” We haven’t sat down and gone through all the details with Gary and Kim but sure hope we are because I love running the series. It’s become super competitive. I think Jack (Bateman) and Scott (Tapley) have done a good job of keeping the series where it needs to be and keeping everything in check. So I hope we can bring the #25 back and shoot for another championship with this team.”

For car owner Casella, of Saugus, MA, it marks his first series title in his racing career that dates back 30 years.

“I can’t put into words, said Casella.” It was my goal from the beginning. I said I’m going to win a series championship before I retire. I didn’t think it would take 10 years. Casella, a former driver and a series original gave up driving and made the right choice in driver selection.

“I knew I had to get out of the car and put someone else in it for us to move forward. Luckily we met Rowan and developed a relationship. We should have been here last year. We had engine issues. But we’re here now. We really wanted it and I’m proud of this team.”

The Casella’s were presented the ‘Chuck Montville Memorial Award’ in honor of Montville, an original series car-owner, who passed away prior to the season.

The series top fifteen competitors were honored.

Runner-up driver Tommy Barrett, of Millis, Mass, was recognized for his three wins and consistent strong finishes.

Richard Savary, of Canton, MA, was recognized for his first series win and consistent performances that enabled him a solid third place in the series.

Louie Mechalides, of Tyngsboro, MA, a winner at Seekonk, and Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT, put together a string of strong finishes to finish fourth and fifth in the yearly ranking.

Max Zachem, of Preston, CT, Norm Wrenn, of Nashua, NH, three-time winner, Steve Masse, of Bellingham, MA, Anthony Nocella, and Mike Holdridge 6th through 10th were recognized.

11th through 15th drivers, Dwight Jarvis, Todd Owen, Todd Patnode, Matt Mead, and Jon McKennedy were also recognized

Special Awards:

Rowan Pennink - Hoosier Tire East
Dana Smith - Mountainside Graphics Rookie of the Year
Anthony Nocella - Most Improved
Mike Holdridge - Tough Luck
Max Zachem - Most Popular Driver
Josh Steeves - Mechanic of The Year
Joe Doucette - Volunteer of The Year
Charlie Pasteryak - Dedication to Racing
Louie Mechalides - “711” Award

10 Years Of Service - Jack Bateman, Chris Grey, John Spence Sr.

The series is slated to open the 2014 season at Waterford, CT. next April.

  Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified racing Series
Posted: November 24, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.