.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - News




The third annual Star Speedway SBM 125 Modified Open for tour-type Modifieds has grown to well beyond expectations in purse money. With less than one week remaining for race teams to enter the Saturday, June 15 event, 31 drivers from eight different states already preregistered to compete for a payoff of more than $45,000.

Defending SBM 125 race winner Matt Hirschman, who won just under $9,000 in last seasons event, is entered to compete in the J&J Motorsports 59 that he won the race with in 2012. Jon McKennedy won the inaugural race in his own car. He will drive for car owner Art Barry again this season.

McKennedy and Hirschman used different strategies to earn their wins. A pit stop for a new right rear tire past halfway brought Hirschman to victory lane last year, while McKennedy won without a tire change. It remains to be seen which strategy proves to be the winning one on Saturday night.

The entry list includes teams from the Valenti Modified Racing Series, the Race of Champions Tour, the regulars of Star Speedway, a few drivers with no affiliation, and of course the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. There is no other race quite like this one, with more than 20 incentive bonuses for race teams to win, which has doubled from last season.

Due to weather issues this spring, some teams are expected to make their decision to race after Friday's NWMT event at Ct's Stafford Motor Speedway. A field of roughly 35 cars are expected to compete on the quarter-mile oval for 24 starting positions in four competitive heat races, beginning at 6:00 PM. A purse paying B-Main to determine the final four starters will be run prior to the 8:30 PM SBM 125 main event.

For more information on the SBM 125, as well as the full event schedule and the long list of sponsors which have added more than $20,000 to the total payoff, log onto the track web site at www.star-speedway.com.


SBM 125 III List of Early Entries:

04 Joey Jarvis, Ascutney, Vermont
05 Jacob Dore, Sanford, Maine
06 Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, Conn.
  3 Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn.
  5 Chris Pasteryak, Jewett City, Conn.
  9 Tommy Barrett, Millis, Mass.
12 Todd Annarummo, Swansea, Mass.
13 Steve Masse, bellingham, Mass.
15 Rob Summers, Vernon, Conn.
16 Ken Barry, Griswold, Conn.
20 Doug Coby, Milford, Conn.
21 Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, Mass.
23 Mike Douglas Jr., Auburn, N.H.
24 Todd Patnode, Richmond, N.H.
25 Zane Zeiner, Bath, Pa.
28 Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, Vermont
36 Chris Bolton, Weare, N.H.
39 Richie Pallai, Yorktown Hts., N.Y.
40 Ryan Preece, Kensington, Conn.
51 Justin Bonsignore, West Islip, N.Y.
56 Chris Ross, Malta, N.Y.
59 Matt Hirschman, Northampton, Pa.
66 Austin Kochenash, Danielsville, Pa.
70 Andy Seuss, Salisbury, N.C.
71 Josh Cantara, Sanford, Maine
79 Max Zachem, Preston, Conn.
85 Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, Mass.
88 Jim Boniface, Winchester, N.H.
92 Anthony Nocella, Woburn, Mass.
93 George Sherman, Framingham, Mass.
99 Richard Savary, Canton, Mass.

Source: Kevin Rice / Star Speedway
Posted: June 10, 2013

2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.