.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - News




Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa. and Anthony Sesely of Matawan were Modified stock car winners during the 40th annual Turkey Derby racing events at Wall Stadium. It was the second straight Tour Modified win for Hirschman while Sesely won his first ever Wall/SK Modified Turkey Derby race after finishing second in recent years.

In Saturday’s Tour Modified 150-lap race Danny Bohn of Mooresville, N.C. jumped to the lead at the outset and held this ground through several restarts while being pressured by Hirschman and several others. Hirschman pitted for tires and fuel with other competitors on lap 81 and then began his climb through the field from the rear.

Bohn finally pitted for his tires and fuel on lap 118 as Hirschman was completing his run to the front. Holding off challenges Hirschman then raced on to victory followed by Doug Cody, Rowan Pennink, Ryan Preece and Michael Bohn. Danny Bohn finished seventh behind Jamie Tomaino.

“It’s real tough to give up that track position when you have to get tires and fuel,” Hirschman said. “It’s real tough to be patient when you are trying to come back through the pack. It took a lot of patience and a great car and crew to win this race today.”

Sesely jumped to the lead in the Wall/SK Modified 100-lapper early but had lots of pressure all the way. Freehold’s Steven Read and Howell’s Jimmy Blewett swapped the top spot with Sesely in the mid portion of the race. Late in the event this battled erupted in the fourth turn with lots of contact and Blewett, Read and several others tangling as a result.

Sesely made it through the chaos and then raced on to the win. Hirschman, Zack Alspach of Willingboro, Howell’s Chris Lane and Michael Zervais wrapped up the top five finishers.

“You had three guys racing on the edge who all wanted this win,” Sesely said of the fourth turn tangle. “I feel bad that it happened but it was just good hard racing. There isn’t a lot of room out there when you’re going as fact as we are.”

In other Saturday action Joey Payne raced to victory in the 40 lap main event for the Dirt Modifieds after Andrew Krause of Holmdel led the early going before dropping from the race on lap 32. Rick Ross, Jr., Rick Yetter, Jack Ely, Jr. and Chuck Bates wrapped up the top five.

Ken Matlach of Levittown, N.Y. won Saturday’s 50-lapper for the Limited Late Models. Early leader Wayne Courey was the runner-up with Chris Turbush, Anthony Crimaldi and Dan Turbush completing the top five. Saturday’s TQ Midget main event was won by Earl Paules over Andy Jankowiak, Buddy Sloed, Matt Roselli and Mike Tidaback.

During Friday’s day one of Turkey Derby racing Kevin Davison of Howell raced to victory in the Sportsman 50-lap main event. Holmdel’s Andrew Krause, Zack Alspach, Dom Fattaruso of Brick and Kenny Van Wickle of Manasquan wrapped up the top five. In Friday legend Cars 40-lap action Tim Solomito of Riverhead, N.Y. posted the victory over Nick Ladyga, Robert French, Artie Pedersen and Kevin Nowak.

The Factory Stocks raced on both Friday and Sunday of Turkey Derby weekend. On Friday Joey Helberg of Union won the 50-lap main event over Scott Riggleman of Manchester, Dan Birdsall, Marty Van Druten of Toms River and Shanon Mongeau. In Sunday’s 50-lapper Brick’s Ronnie Mullen took down the win over Steve West of Howell, John Bowers of Pt. Pleasant, Riggleman and Rob McCormick.

James Meyers of Port Monmouth won Friday’s 4 Cylinder 50-lapper while Pete Zaharias, Todd Pilla, Rick Massaro and Mike Wahl completed the top five. On Sunday Shanon Mongeau was tops in the 4 Cylinder 50-lapper while Cole Ormsbee, Zack Thomas, Al Morales and Jeff Dumbrowski completed the top five.

Cheryl Vreeland won Sunday’s Ladies’ Race.

With the 40th running of the Turkey Derby now history, all attention is turning towards the 2014 racing season.
The racing schedule, which will begin Saturday night racing in the spring, will be announced soon.

Wall Stadium presents professional motorsports events on most Saturdays and Sundays during the summer months and special races in October and November. The speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400, while CKMotorsports@aol.com is the track’s email address. More information is also available at www.wallspeedwayracing.com.

Source: Jeff Gravatt / Wall Stadium Speedway
Posted: December 2, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.