.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Tenth Career Whelen Modified Tour Pole At Thompson

Mike Stefanik saved his best for last Saturday at Thompson International Speedway.

The last car out in qualifying, Stefanik took the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Coors Light Pole Award on the second of his two laps in advance of Sunday’s season-opening Icebreaker. Has fast lap was recorded at 18.668 seconds (120.527 mph).

The pole was the 48th of Stefanik’s career and the 10th at Thompson. From Coventry, R.I., Stefanik has a pair of wins in the Icebreaker, the last coming in 2006. He also holds the Whelen Modified Tour record for overall wins at Thompson with 14.

Prior to Stefanik’s last-lap run, Ryan Preece was in position for the Coors Light Pole. He will instead join Stefanik in the front row on Sunday thanks to a fast qualifying lap of 18.707 (120.276).

Rowan Pennink led Saturday afternoon’s practice session and qualified third at 18.745 (120.032) while Chuck Hossfeld was fourth-fastest at 18.781 (119.802).

Defending race winner Ron Silk, Justin Bonsignore, Ron Yuhas Jr., reigning tour champ Doug Coby, Bobby Santos and Todd Szegedy rounded out the top 10 of 29 qualifiers.

Hossfeld’s qualifying run was later disallowed after his No. 72 failed post-qualifying technical inspection. He will start at the rear of the field on Sunday and all other qualifiers will move up one position in the starting lineup.

Icebreaker activities are set to get underway Sunday at 11:45 a.m., with opening ceremonies followed by NASCAR Whelen All-American Series features. The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is slated to take the green flag at approximately 3 p.m.

Qualifying Results

Race Sunday; Qualifying Saturday at Thompson Speedway, Thompson, CT

Lap Length: 0.625 miles

  1. (22) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I., Ford, 120.527
  2. (16) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Ford, 120.276
  3. (93) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 120.032
  4.   (6) Ron Silk, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, 119.776
  5. (51) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 119.573
  6. (64) Ron Yuhas, Jr., Groton, Conn., Chevrolet, 119.414
  7. (52) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 119.376
  8. (44) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Chevrolet, 119.073
  9.   (2) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield, Conn, Chevrolet, 118.991
10. (58) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 118.897
11.   (3) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 118.759
12.   (4) Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y., Dodge, 118.702
13. (88) Bryon Chew, Mattituck, N.Y., Chevrolet, 118.546
14. (39) Richie Pallai,, Jr., Yorktown Heights, N.Y., Chevrolet, 118.540
15. (79) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Pontiac, 118.502
16. (15) Rob Fuller, Boylston, Mass., Chevrolet, 118.315
17. (76) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 118.172
18. (46) Eric Berndt, Cromwell, Conn., Chevrolet, 117.857
19. (73) Cole Powell, Mount Brydg, Ontario, Chevrolet, 117.733
20. (89) Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Chevrolet, 117.684
21. (45) Jimmy Zacharias, Candor, N.Y., Chevrolet, 117.322
22. (99) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 117.236
23. (28) Ed Flemke, Jr., Southington, Conn, Chevrolet, 116.768
24. (18) Ken Heagy, Calverton, N.Y., Ford, 116.472
25. (33) Wade Cole, Riverton, Conn., Chevrolet, 115.765
26. (26) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Pontiac, 114.121
27. (38) Brian Schofield, Monson, Mass., Chevrolet, 114.045
28. (07) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Chevrolet, No speed
29. (72) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y., Chevrolet, No speed


  Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
Posted: April 13, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.