.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Ninth Career Coors Light Pole For Whelen Modified Tour Veteran

Bobby Santos has the inside track in his quest for back-to-back NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victories at Stafford Motor Speedway after earning the Coors Light Pole Award Saturday afternoon for Sunday’s CARQUEST Tech-Net Spring Sizzler.

Santos, from Franklin, Mass., laid down a fast lap of 18.082 seconds (99.547 mph) in qualifying at the historic half mile for his ninth career Whelen Modified Tour pole. It marked the second time he’s captured the top-qualifying spot for the famed Spring Sizzler weekend, and fourth time overall at Stafford.

Todd Szegedy will join Santos in the front row for Sunday’s 200-lap Whelen Modified Tour feature after he registered a quick lap of 18.084 (99.536). The second row will consist of Rowan Pennink (18.087/99.464) and Chuck Hossfeld (18.101/99.442).

The rest of the top 10 qualifiers included Mike Stefanik, Bryon Chew, Ryan Preece, Eric Berndt, defending race winner Doug Coby and Donny Lia.

Ted Christopher, who has a Whelen Modified Tour-leading five wins in the Spring Sizzler, qualified 15th.

CARQUEST Tech-Net Spring Sizzler activities are set to get underway on Sunday at 11 a.m., with the CARQUEST Belts & Hose Pit Party followed by NASCAR Whelen All-American Series features. The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is slated to take the green flag at approximately 3:15 p.m.


Race Sunday; Qualifying Saturday at Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford, Conn.
Lap Length:
0.5 miles

  1. (44) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Chevrolet, 99.547
  2.   (2) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield, Conn, Chevrolet, 99.536
  3. (93) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 99.464
  4. (72) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 99.442
  5. (22) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I., Ford, 99.387
  6. (88) Bryon Chew, Mattituck, N.Y., Chevrolet, 99.343
  7. (16) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Ford, 99.299
  8. (46) Eric Berndt, Cromwell, Conn., Chevrolet, 99.245
  9.   (4) Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y., Dodge, 99.228
10. (52) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 99.228
11. (76) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 99.152
12. (39) Richie Pallai,, Jr., Yorktown Heights, N.Y., Chevrolet, 99.081
13.   (6) Ron Silk, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, 99.026
14. (51) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 98.961
15.   (3) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 98.836
16. (73) Cole Powell, Mount Brydges, Ontario, Chevrolet, 98.684
17. (99) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 98.388
18. (79) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Pontiac, 98.334
19. (64) Ron Yuhas, Jr., Groton, Conn., Chevrolet, 98.141
20. (58) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 97.858
21. (07) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Chevrolet, 97.508
22. (28) Ed Flemke, Jr., Southington, Conn, Chevrolet, 97.056
23. (33) Wade Cole, Riverton, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.878
24. (18) Ken Heagy, Calverton, N.Y., Ford, 96.313
25. (38) Brian Schofield, Monson, Mass., Chevrolet, 96.051
26. (26) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Pontiac, 94.707


  Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
Posted: April 27, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.