.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen All-American Series




NWMT Coors Light Pole

Polly Reid

Bobby Santos of Franklin, MA went out third in qualifying and admits he was surprised with the results. Santos in the Sully Tinio owned, Curb Records/Brendan Kelley Music sponsored modified bested a field of 26 cars to earn the Coors Light Pole Award for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Tech-Net Spring Sizzler at Stafford Motor Speedway.

"Obiviously I'm shocked to get the pole going out this early." With a time of 18.082 seconds around the half mile oval, Santos solid run held up as driver after driver made a bid for the top spot. Todd Szegedy came very, very close with a time of 18.084 seconds but still a blink of the eye shy of the pole and will line up second for the Sizzler on Sunday.

This is the 9th career NWMT pole award for Santos, his 4th at Stafford and his second Sizzler pole. "I have good teams and good cars behind me. Driving for Bob Garbarino, they always gave me good cars here. And Sully and this team here, they're giving me awesome race cars- it just makes my job easy."

Using notes off the Fall Final, Santos explained the 44 crew didn't make many adjustments for time trials. "They gave me a great car at the Fall Final here and they gave me the same car today and it was still good."

Santos is looking ahead to the 200 laps tomorrow. "It's a long race- we have to have the car in one piece at the end to have a shot at winning it. All this means nothing if we don't win the race tomorrow. I'm excited, the guys gave me a great car and we have as good a shot as anybody."

While Szegedy will share the front row with Santos, Rowan Pennink will start third, Chuck Hossfeld and Mike Stefanik the top five.
Bryon Chew, Ryan Preece, Eric Berndt, defending series champion Doug Coby and Donny Lia round out the top ten.

If you are not able to make it to Stafford Motor Speedway in person, be sure to 'tune in' to Denise Dupont's live coverage Sunday here on The Chrome Horn, sponsored by New England Racing Fuel.

Source: Polly Reid / TheChromeHorn.com
Posted: April 27, 2013

2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.