.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Earns 18th Career Whelen Modified Tour Pole, Eighth At Stafford

Donny Lia earned his 18th career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Coors Light Pole Award Saturday at Stafford Motor Speedway in advance of the CARQUEST Fall Final 150.

Lia, from Jericho, N.Y., recorded a fast lap of 18.295 seconds (98.388 mph) to edge Bobby Santos for the pole. Santos, who was attempting to become the first driver in Whelen Modified Tour history to sweep a season of pole awards at Stafford, finished second with a fast lap of 18.299 (98.366).

Season points leader Ryan Preece qualified third around the historic half mile at 18.413 (97.757) while Rowan Pennink was fourth at 18.426 (97.688) and Chuck Hossfeld fifth at 18.430 (97.667).

Todd Szegedy, Justin Bonsignore, Bryon Chew, Doug Coby and Cole Powell rounded out the top 10 qualifiers.

It was the second pole of the season for Lia, following his previous top-qualifying effort at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway on Aug. 21, and his eighth in his 36 career Whelen Modified Tour races at Stafford.

Santos had won the pole in the tour’s first three trips to Stafford this season. In coming up just short of the season sweep today, he’ll have to settle for being one of just four drivers that have earned three of four at the track in the 29-year history of the Whelen Modified Tour.

Coincidentally, Lia is also a member of that select group – he did it in 2005.

Ryan Preece, who brings in a 41-point lead in the season standings on the reigning champion Coby, will have a chance to clinch the 2013 championship tomorrow at Stafford. If Preece is able to gain seven points on Coby – by finishing position and potential bonus points – then the 22-year-old will secure his first Whelen Modified Tour title with one race to go on the schedule.

The CARQUEST Fall Final 150 is slated to take the green flag on Sunday at approximately 3:15 p.m.


Qualifying Results

Race Sunday; Qualifying Saturday at Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford, Conn.
Lap Length:
0.5 miles

  1. (4) Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y., Dodge, 98.388
  2. (44) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Chevrolet, 98.366
  3. (16) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Ford, 97.757
  4. (93) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 97.688
  5. (72) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 97.667
  6.   (2) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield, Conn., Chevrolet, 97.656
  7. (51) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 97.487
  8. (88) Bryon Chew, Mattituck, N.Y., Chevrolet, 97.329
  9. (52) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 97.208
10. (73) Cole Powell, Mt. Brydges, Ont., Canada, Chevrolet, 97.056
11. (79) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.946
12.   (3) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.831
13. (22) Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I., Ford, 96.764
14. (39) Richie Pallai, Jr., Yorktown Heights, N.Y., Chevrolet, 96.717
15. (46) Eric Berndt, Cromwell, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.624
16. (18) Ken Heagy, Calverton, N.Y., Ford, 96.603
17.   (6) Ron Silk, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.561
18. (07) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Chevrolet, 96.525
19. (28) Ed Flemke, Jr., Southington, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.324
20. (64) Ron Yuhas, Jr, Groton, Conn., Chevrolet, 96.180
21. (99) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 95.694
22. (58) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 95.587
23. (26) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Pontiac, 94.172
24. (38) Dave Salzarulo, Monson, Mass., Chevrolet, 93.960
25. (33) Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn., Chevrolet, 93.599


  Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
Posted: September 28, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.