.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour



Leads Wire-To-Wire For First NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Win

Ryan Preece recorded his first NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour victory in style, leading every lap in the Kevin Powell Motorsports 199 at the historic Bowman Gray Stadium on Saturday.

The 22-year-old from Berlin, Conn., became the seventh driver in series history to win at the track. It was the second Modified event in as many nights for Preece, who finished 16th in the CARQUEST 150 at Stafford (Conn.) Motor Speedway on Friday evening in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour action.

“This win means so much to me,” Preece said. “This is definitely at the top of my wins list. All of the history here and the drivers that have won here – it’s just an honor to have my name on that list.”

It was his first Southern Modified Tour win in five starts to go along with his eight career victories in the northern tour, where he is the points leader.

Preece, a NASCAR Next program participant, won the Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the day and led from start to finish, but it was not without its drama. Beyond the eight cautions and subsequent restarts, the engine on his No. 41 East West Marine/Mizzy Construction Chevrolet started to go sour in the final stages of the race.

“I didn’t want to say anything over the radio, but on Lap 190 I must have dropped a cylinder because the tone of the motor completely changed,” he confessed. “Overall the car was great. Lots of work goes into these cars and my guys are the best. My family pours its heart and soul into this one and I can’t thank them enough for the support.”

NASCAR Next is an industry initiative to spotlight young, talented drivers who will shape the sport in the years to come.

Five-time Bowman Gray track champion Burt Myers crossed the finish line in second for his 50th top five in 98 tour starts. It was the fourth runner-up finish for Myers in nine tour starts at his home track.

“The car was really good early and it got bad on me – it just went real tight on me,” said Myers. “At the end there and hindsight is 20-20, but I believe that if we had gotten a long green run we maybe could have run him down. My hat’s off to them, though, they had a great car tonight.”

Cole Powell finished in third, the same position he finished in at this event a season ago.

“I don’t know what we have to do to get out of this third spot. Well, I do know, but really happy with the finish here tonight,” said Powell. “Last year we kind of lucked into it after guys wrecked in front of us, but this year we were in it all race long.”

Danny Bohn and Tim Brown completed the top five while John Smith, Jeremy Gerstner, Luke Fleming, Gary Putnam and Andy Seuss brought home the top 10.

Series points leader and the defending race winner George Brunnhoelzl III encountered panhard bar troubles during the second half of the race and finished 14th, snapping his three race winning streak. Despite the troubles, Brunnhoelzl still holds a 21-point lead on Kyle Ebersole in the season standings and has a 27-point advantage on Myers.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour next travels to the legendary Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway on Wednesday, Aug. 21 for its annual clash with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour in the Titan Roof 150. The race will be telecast live by FS2 with coverage beginning at 6 p.m. ET.


Results Saturday At Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Lap length:
0.25 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (1) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Chevrolet, 199 laps, 44.310 mph.
  2.   (3) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 199.
  3.   (4) Cole Powell, Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada, Chevrolet, 199.
  4. (10) Danny Bohn, Freehold, N.J., Chevrolet, 199.
  5.   (8) Tim Brown, Rural Hall, N.C., Chevrolet, 199.
  6.   (9) John Smith, Mount Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 199.
  7. (17) Jeremy Gerstner, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Chevrolet, 199.
  8. (13) Luke Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., Ford, 199.
  9. (19) Gary Putnam, Concord, N.C., Chevrolet, 198.
10.   (2) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 195.
11. (12) Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, Pa., Ford, 173, accident.
12. (11) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 172.
13.   (7) Cody Ware, Greensboro, N.C., Chevrolet, 163, accident.
14.   (6) George Brunnhoelzl, III, West Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 157.
15. (15) Mike Norman, Lewisville, N.C., Chevrolet, 156.
16. (18) JR Bertuccio, Centereach, N.Y., Chevrolet, 152, accident.
17. (20) Bryan Dauzat, Alexandria, La., Chevrolet, 149.
18. (16) David Calabrese, Toms River, N.J., Chevrolet, 118, brakes.
19.   (5) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Pontiac, 118, accident.
20. (14) Brian Loftin, Lexington, N.C., Chevrolet, 57, accident.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
1 hour 7 minutes 22 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.040 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: R. Preece (67.603 mph, 13.313 seconds)
Caution Flags: 8 for 49 laps.
Lead Changes: 0 among 1 drivers.
Lap Leaders: R. Preece 1-199.

Standings: 1. G. Brunnhoelzl,III, 256; 2. K. Ebersole, 235; 3. B. Myers, 229; 4. T. Brown, 223; 5. A. Seuss, 221; 6. J. Myers, 213; 7. G. Putnam, 208; 8. D. Bohn, 207; 9. L. Fleming, 204; 10. J. Smith, 201.


  Source: Shon Sbarra / NASCAR
Posted: August 3, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.