.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour



Brunnhoelzl Closes On Fourth Whelen Southern Modified Tour Title

Andy Seuss continued his hot streak and George Brunnhoelzl III took a step toward his record fourth NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship Saturday in the G-Oil 150 at Southern National Motorsports Park.

Seuss won his third straight race.

He previously picked up wins at Caraway Speedway in Asheboro, N.C., on Sept. 8 and Sept. 28. The first victory broke a winless streak that extended almost a year. He hasn't stopped winning since. Southern National marked the 15th career win for the 26-year-old from Hampstead, N.H.

Brunnhoelzl finished second to extend his lead to 32 points over Kyle Ebersole, who finished fourth, with one race remaining. The season finale is Thursday, Oct. 10 on the quarter-mile on the frontstretch at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Burt Myers was third, followed by Ebersole and rookie Luke Fleming.

The race was originally scheduled for Sept. 21, but rain moved into the area after qualifying and caused the race to be pushed to Saturday. Burt Myers had won the Coors Light Pole Award prior to the postponement. He has now finished in the top five in each of the five all-time Whelen Southern Modified Tour events at Southern National, including two wins.

Jason Myers, JR Bertuccio, John Smith, Danny Bohn and Thomas Stinson rounded out the top 10.

Bertuccio has recorded three top-10 finishes in a row for just the second time in his Whelen Southern Modified Tour career while Stinson has top 10s in all three of his starts as a part-time competitor this year.

It’s been a strong late-season push for Seuss, who suffered three non-lead-lap finishes in a row in August and sat fifth in points at the time.

“Our goal is to come and sit on the front row and lead every lap ever since we had our bad luck, and that’s what we’ve been doing,” Seuss said. “Eddie Harvey (car owner) and the guys give me a car good enough to do it, they don’t care if I burn the tires off it – that’s their job – and we’ve gone the same page.

“They did an awesome job at the halfway break – made all the right adjustments – because the 28 [Brunnhoelzl] and 1 [Burt Myers] were so fast that I wouldn’t have been able to run as hard as I did without them making those key adjustments, so that was big.”

For Seuss, Saturday was the third wire-to-wire win of his Whelen Southern Modified Tour career. His 15 career triumphs rank second only to Brunnhoelzl’s 20, and he moved past L.W. Miller into second – also behind Brunnhoelzl – on the career laps led list by pacing the field for all 150 on Saturday.

Even though Seuss held off the field from start to finish, he had a rearview full of Brunnhoelzl the majority of the race. Brunnhoelzl could close in on Seuss through the corners, but Seuss had a decided advantage on the straightaways. When lap traffic became a factor in the closing circuits, Brunnhoelzl almost caught him, but Seuss was able to hold off the challenger by barely half a car-length at the finish line.

“We were just a tick off, off the corner, we could get in and roll the center real good,” Brunnhoelzl said. “If we had a couple more laps, I think we could have done something there.”

As it was, Brunnhoelzl had to settle for his fourth consecutive runner-up finish, but it was a finish that all but clinched yet another Whelen Southern Modified Tour title. When Brunnhoelzl takes the green flag at Charlotte, the championship will be his for the fourth time in the last five years.


NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour-G-Oil 150 - Unofficial Results
Saturday At Southern National Motorsports Park, Lucama, N.C.
Lap length:
0.4 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (2) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 150 laps, 81.448 mph.
  2.   (4) George Brunnhoelzl, III, West Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  3.   (1) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 150.
  4.   (5) Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, Pa., Ford, 150.
  5.   (9) Luke Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., Ford, 150.
  6. (11) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 150.
  7. (10) JR Bertuccio, Centereach, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  8.   (7) John Smith, Mount Airy, N.C., Chevrolet, 150.
  9. (12) Danny Bohn, Freehold, N.J., Chevrolet, 149.
10. (14) Thomas Stinson, Chester, Va., Chevrolet, 149.
11.   (8) David Calabrese, Toms River, N.J., Chevrolet, 148.
12. (13) Mike Norman, Lewisville, N.C., Chevrolet, 148.
13. (15) Jeremy Gerstner, Wesley Chapel, Fla,, Chevrolet, 147.
14.   (6) Tim Brown, Rural Hall, N.C., Chevrolet, 116, suspension.
15.   (3) AJ Winstead, Richmond, Va., Chevrolet, 113, mechanical.
16. (16) Daryl Lacks, Forest, Va., Chevrolet, 28, mechanical.
17. (17) Bryan Dauzat, Alexandria, La., Chevrolet, 0, dns.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
0 hours 44 minutes 12 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.073 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: B. Myers (99.758 mph, 14.435 seconds)
Caution Flags: 2 for 7 laps.
Lead Changes: 0 among 1 drivers.
Lap Leaders: A. Seuss 1-150.

Standings: 1. G. Brunnhoelzl III, 465; 2. K. Ebersole, 433; 3. A. Seuss, 432; 4. B. Myers, 418; 5. T. Brown, 398; 6. J. Smith, 398; 7. J. Myers, 392; 8. L. Fleming, 367; 9. J. Bertuccio, 362; 10. D. Bohn, 356.


  Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
Posted: October 5, 2013

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.