.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




19-year old Tommy Barrett, of Millis, MA, cashed in on a lap 66 caution flag, moved to second on the restart, then passed race leader, Todd Szegedy, of Ridgefield, CT, on the final lap to win the Valenti Modified Racing Series 75-lap feature race Thursday night at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, Thompson, Connecticut.

Barrett’s victory was his seventh series win and his first series victory at Thompson. Barrett becomes the fourth different winner in as many races this season.

Barrett, piloting the # 9 Victory Lane Bar and Grill modified, started outside front row and fell back several positions.

“We tend to lay back but I wanted to stay up front and not let those guys (leaders) get to far away from me. It was just the way we wanted it. Top ten, top five. At the end we got the caution I needed and got a good restart.,” Barrett explained in victory lane. “ They told me on the radio we were faster than those guys up front. “I got up on the wheel and did what I had to do”

Barrett’s victory is his seventh series win and his first series victory

Reigning champion Rowan Pennink, of Huntingdon Valley, PA., started 19th and finished a strong second at the end.
“We started a little further back than we like too. A race going green like that a long time and everyone spread out we tried to take it easy and save our stuff. At some point you gotta go when the laps are counting down. We had a slight vibration, the 9 (Barrett) and 85 (Szegedy) were wicked fast so I’m happy with a second.”

Ted Christopher, of Plainville, CT, chased Szegedy from the start of the race and finished a strong third.

Richard Savary, of Canton, MA., and Dave Etheridge, of Portland, CT., rounded out the top five.

Szegedy, Tom Carey Jr, Anthony Nocella, Jeff Malave, and Chris Pasteryak, finished sixth through tenth.

26 cars started the race with 10 cars finishing on the lead lap.

34 teams attempted to qualify. Heats winners were Keith Rocco, Ryan Preece, Barrett, with consolation races going to Max Zachem, and Chris Pasteryak.

The series returns to Seekonk Speedway, Seekonk, MA, Saturday June 7.

Race Summary:
Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park
May 29,2014
Distance: 75-laps
Time of Race: 40:13:709
Margin of Victory:1.206
Best Speed: 119.218 (Szegedy)
Best Lap Time: 18.873
Lead Changes: 1
Lap Leaders: Szegedy (1-74) Barrett (75)
Cautions: Laps - 1,66,68

Unofficial Order of Finish: (1) Barrett (2) Pennink (3) Christopher (4) Savary (5) Etheridge (6) Szegedy (7) Carey Jr. (8) Nocella (9) Malave (10) Chris Pasteryak (11) Schneider (12) Zachem (13) Jeff Rocco (14) Willis Jr. (15) Kopec (16) Meservey Jr. (17) Owen (18) Abele Jr. (19) Masse (20) Keith Rocco (21) Goodale (22) Bonsignore (23) Holdridge (24) Preece (25) Seidell Jr (26) Charlie Pasteryak

  Source: John Spence Sr / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: May 30, 2014

2007-2014 © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent