.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




The 4th annual Lincoln Tech VMRS 80 lap feature looked like Keith Rocco would cruise to victory early on in the race, as he came from his second row starting position and took control on lap five, passing points leader and defending champion Rowan Pennink.

The Meridan, CT driver pulled out to a comfortable lead while behind him racing action was heating up as Pennink, Todd Szegedy, Ted Christopher, and a host of others were bumping and grinding on each other, trying to gain any advantage.

On lap 15 Szegedy got loose on the backstretch and found himself at the rear of the field by the time he regained control. That moved Christopher into third and on the next lap T. C. side slammed Pennink taking over second-place. By the 20 lap mark Tommy Barrett Jr. was picking off competitors one at a time, moving into the third spot, then set his sights on leader Rocco and second-place Christopher.

For the next 30 laps, Rocco set a blistering pace trying to run away from the pack, but a lap 50 yellow changed everything. On the restart Barrett saw his chance to lead but got sideways in turn one, then Christopher took advantage and came away with the lead on lap 52. It was the only lap TC would lead as Rocco took control again on lap 53.

Barrett got back to a full head of steam, and out dueled Rocco taking command for the next two circuits. Woody Pitkat, making his first start of the year in the car vacated by Tom Carey Jr, looked very comfortable on his home track as he joined the action at the front and outraced Barrett to lead one lap, but Tommy roared back leading until lap 59 when Rocco once again took command of the race and let the others fight for second place.

At the finish line Rocco beat Barrett by 0.365 seconds to record his second win of the year. Justin Bonsignore turned in another outstanding performance to bring the Art Barry mount home in third. Pitkat and Szegedy would round out the top five.

Lincoln Tech 80 - Unofficial Finish
July 18, 2014 - Stafford Speedway

Entrants: 25
Distance: 80 Laps
Heat Race winners: Preece, K. Rocco, Bonsignore
Did Not Start Feature: # 77 Matt Mead (Engine), # 19 David Schneider (Engine)
Time of Race: 52:59.208
Margin of Victory: 0.365
Best Speed: 96.884
Best Lap Time: 18.579
Best Lap By: Ryan Preece (#31)
Lap Leaders: 1-4 (Pennink) 5-51 (K. Rocco) 52 (Christopher) 53 (K. Rocco) 54-55 (Barrett) 56 (Pitkat) 57-59 (Barrett)
60-80 (K. Rocco)

Unofficial Finish: 1. Keith Rocco 2. Tommy Barrett Jr 3. Justin Bonsignore 4. Woody Pitkat 5. Todd Szegedy 6. Chris Pasteryak
7. Rowan Pennink 8. Max Zachem 9. Eric Goodale 10. Norm Wrenn 11. Dylan Kopec 12. Dan Meservey Jr 13. Donnie Lashua
14. Mike Willis Jr 15. Chris Bakaj 16. Dave Etheridge 17. Carl Medieros Jr 18. Richard Savary 19. Ted Christopher
20. Tom Abele Jr 21. Ryan Preece 22. Jeff Rocco 23. Roy Seidel! Jr

Next Event: Waterford Speedbowl August 9, 2014

  Source: Crystal Snape / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: July 19, 2014

2007-2014 GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent