.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series




It took a visit to his native state to capture his first ever VMRS race. Justin Bonsignore did exactly that winning Sunday afternoon’s Valenti Modified Racing Series ‘Airborne 100’ at Plattsburgh, New York’s, Airborne Speedway.

Bonsignore, Holtsville, New York, started 3rd in a 17-car lineup, and dropped to fourth in the early going.

Polesitter Max Zachem, of Preston, Connecticut, set the pace early leading the first 31-laps before turning the top position over to Chris Pasteryak, of Jewett City, Connecticut, who became the class of the field.

The two-time-series champion opened a sizeable lead from lap-32 through lap –79 when Bonsignore moved to the front following a caution flag for Tommy Barrett.

Barrett, of Millis, Massachusetts, was off the pace prior to the caution, and a visit to the pit area followed for the 19-year old driver.

When the race resumed. Bonsignore was in command with Barrett working his way to the front. Barrett moved to third on lap-89, second two laps later, and then caught up to Bonsignore.

The closing laps brought back memories of the last race at Airborne in 2010, a two-car battle to the finish. Bonsignore fought off every attempt Barrett made to take the victory but it was the New York driver’s day to shine, and remain a serious contender for the series championship.

Bonsignore became the 10th different winner in 14 races this season.

“We’ve been close a lot and to finally get a win especially in the 21 car means a lot,” said Bonsignore. A lot of great people have won in this car. A lot I grew up watching and idolized as a kid so it’s awesome to put my name on the list that have won for Art Barry and Kenny.”

Bonsignore’s thoughts on a fast closing Barrett for the win.

“When you see him right in front of you and almost a lap down you know his game plan. He’s hoping for a caution. He got it and I’ll leave it at that.” “We were fighting no power steering, no radio’s and with 10 to go, we don’t know if the battery or alternator was starting to die, that’s why I had to drive a little aggressively. All in all we’ll take it. It should be a good points day.” Bonsignore concluded.

For Barrett, it was another late push to the front adding to another dramatic finish.

“We started 13th and kind of rode around there for a little bit. I just didn’t want to wear the tires too much we were already free. As the race went on we didn’t get any cautions and the car started getting looser and looser and I couldn’t hold onto it anymore. We came in on lap-79 and the guys made some great adjustments. The car had tremendous forward bite after that. I had a lot for Justin.. got to the outside a few times.. but just wasn’t letting us have it,” Barrett said.

Third place finisher Pasteryak, only 35 points back in the point standings, ran a solid race for another podium finish “I just missed the stagger a little bit and it showed. It was really good early but from lap 50 on I was just trying to drive it as straight as I could. It was pretty good but just not good enough.”

Zachem was solid again with a fourth place finish, with Matt Mead, of Richmond, New Hampshire, finishing an impressive fifth, his first ever race at the New York oval.

Sixth through tenth; Rowan Pennink, Mike Willis Jr, Carl Medeiros Jr, Norm Wrenn, and Dan Meservey Jr.

Three caution flags were displayed on laps 31,79,and 82
The race was completed in 37 minutes, 57 seconds.
14 of the 17 starters finished on the lead lap

Heats winners; Pennink & Pasteryak

Next Event; Waterford (CT Speedbowl -- October 4 & 5

Race Summary:

Airborne Park Speedway
September 7, 2014
Race # 14

Distance: 100-laps
Time: 37:37:131
Margin of Victory: Unavailable (Transponder Failure)
Best Speed: 111.691 (Bakaj)
Best Lap Time: 16.077 (Bakaj)
Lead Changes: 2
Lap Leaders: 20CT - 1 thru 31; 5CT - 32 thru 79; 21 - 80 thru 100
Cautions: Laps - 31, 79, and 82

Unofficial Order of Finish: (1) Bonsignore (2) Barrett (3) Pasteryak (4) Zachem (5) Mead (6) Pennink (7) Willis (8) Medeiros
(9) Wrenn (10) Meservey (11) Lashua (12) Savary (13) Bakaj (14) Holdridge (15) Cyr (16) Kopec (17) Malave

  Source: John Spence Sr / Valenti Modified Racing Series
Posted: September 8, 2014

2007-2014 © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent