.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - RoC Asphalt Modified Tour




John White, owner of Chemung Speedrome, earned a new nickname on Sunday – Gamblin’ Man. He took on a bunch of meteorologists, whose forecasts had a likelihood of rain ranging from 40 to 70%, and made the call at 7:30 AM to the RoC’s Andrew Harpell that he was going for it. Except for a cold wind, it was a beautiful rain-free day for the season opener and first stop on Race of Champions Modified Tour. Matt Hirschman (RoC Modifieds), Tim Gullo (Super Stocks), Jeremy Haudricourt (INEX Legends) and Nick Morich (4 Cylinders) won the 4 features in front of a nice crowd at the NASCAR-sanctioned facility.

Matt Hirschman’s command of his car, a number of race tracks, and the overall RoC series is astounding. From the moment car #60 unloads, everyone is on notice. The Northampton, PA competitor won his heat race and drew starting position #5 for the 75-lap event.

Mike Leaty, who won a heat race, drew the pole but was denied leading when Bobby Holmes made a beautiful inside move in turn 4 to overtake both him and heat winner Rusty Smith. When Leaty spun working lap 7 it brought Hirschman up to the front row and he took over the top spot, something he never surrendered. Over the course of the event, which was slowed by 12 cautions, Hirschman had little trouble holding off Holmes while Smith was in 3rd. Cars among the leaders included Erick Rudolph, Chuck Hossfeld and Andy Jankowiak.

TJ Potrzebowski, who started 23rd, and Austin Kochenash (18th) were closing but some events with 25 laps to go changed the outcome for 3 drivers. Jankowiak had trouble lapping Sam Fullone’s #48 and contact from Kochenash bumped Potrzebowski out of the fast lane where he lost several positions. During the caution RoC officials assessed a 2-position penalty on Kochenash for that contact.

The final 25 laps were classic Hirschman/Hossfeld, while Smith tried to hold off a hard-charging Brian Defebo and Kochenash. A late caution left the drivers with a 10-lap shootout, and Hirschman was not to be denied this one. He won, followed across the finish line by Hossfeld, Kochenash, Defebo and Jimmy Zacharias.

Drivers in the track’s Super Stock division honored the late George Stedge with a parade lap through the infield access road, adjacent to the tech inspection area where he had led the crew. In qualifying Dan Mathews and Tim Gullo won the heat races and the pair started on the front row for the 25-lap event. Gullo got the lead and started to pull away from a 3-way battle for 3rd involving Jeff Goodwin, Mike Nichols and Mathews.

Five cautions slowed the action, the most dramatic of which came on a late race restart. Gullo and Goodwin were in row 1. As the pair approached turn 1, track officials ruled that Goodwin turned down into Gullo and he, Goodwin, spun. That brought Nichols up alongside Gullo for the final restart.

The sharp BA Racing Supplies #71 was hooked up and Gullo (Elmira, NY) powered his way through the corners and emerged from turn 2 as the clear leader. He sailed across the finish line for his first win of the season. Nichols was 2nd, with Mathews, Jody Buckley and Rich Talada all in the top 5.

Jeremy Haudricourt made just one INEX Legends feature in 2013, but Sunday’s sweep of the action just may entice him to visit more often. But he had to work for it. While running 2nd to Alexandria Smith, he tagged her car and they both spun, bringing out the first of 3 cautions. Both restarted at the rear and Charlie Lohmeyer, Jr. inherited position number 1 when racing resumed. Lohmeyer’s biggest challenge came from Alex Bowen, until Haudricourt was back in the neighborhood. Over the final laps Haudricourt caught then passed Lohmeyer, and he had a comfortable advantage over him at the stripe. Others in the top 5 included Anthony Riforgiato, Smith and Beth Scherer. Smith and Lohmeyer, Jr. won the other 2 heat races.

The 20-lap 4 Cylinder feature saw defending track champion, Nick Morich (Horseheads), pull his sleek #9 into victory after holding off heat winner Joe Lane. Jeremiah Clonch finished 3rd, followed by John Maynard and Sam Warren. Heat winner Marcus Wood had a medical issue after he parked his car, and the Chemung Volunteer Fire Department responded to cut him from the car and for transport to the hospital.

Racing returns to the Speedrome this Friday, May 9th. The Sunoco Modifieds highlight the evening with a pair of 25-lap main events. Also in action Friday the Super Stocks (25), 4 Cylinders (20), INEX Legends (20), Bandoleros (8) and Dirt Crate Sportsman cars. Pits open at 4, practice and grandstand at 6, and racing gets underway at 7:15 PM. Admission: adults $12; seniors 65 and older $10; kids 6-12 $5; 5 and under free. For additional information call the track office at 607-529-9998 or check the track’s website www.chemungspeedrome.net.

Chemung Speedrome and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series: Asphalt Racing At Its Finest!


RoC Modifieds (75 Laps) MATT HIRSCHMAN, Chuck Hossfeld, Austin Kochenash, Brian Defebo, Jimmy Zacharias, Daren Scherer, Erick Rudolph, Andy Jankowiak, Brandon Oltra, Patrick Emerling, Mike Leaty, Daryl Lewis, Jr., TJ Potrzebowski, Jim Storace, Nick Pecko, Kirk Totten, Bryan Sherwood, Sam Fullone, Rusty Smith, Bobby Holmes, Dean Rypkema, Tommy Cloce, Doug Reaume, Tyler Rypkema

Super Stocks (25 Laps) TIM GULLO, Mike Nichols, Danny Mathews, Jody Buckley, Rich Talada, Jeff Goodwin, Nick Robinson, Dusty Snell, Derrick Tarbox, Lee Sharpsteen, Jake Snell, Gary Noe, Terry Potrzebowski (DNS), Charlie Sharpsteen (DNS)

INEX Legends (20 Laps) JEREMY HAUDRICOURT, Charlie Lohmeyer, Jr., Anthony Riforgiato, Alexandria Smith, Beth Scherer, Tony Gullo, Alex Bowen, John Bacon, Charlie Lohmeyer, Sr., Wayne Walker, Michael Riforgiato, Cody Gregg, Gary Ham, Mike Bollen (DNS), Daren Scherer (DNS)

4 Cylinders (20 Laps) NICK MORICH, Joe Lane, Jeremiah Clonch, John Maynard, Sam Warren, Cody Jackson, Dewain Talada, Monica Green, CJ Krapf, Marcus Wood, Dave Cooke, Amber Pierce

  Source: Carol Houssock / Chemung Speedrome
Posted: May 5, 2014

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.