.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - RoC Asphalt Modified Tour




Short Track Management (STM) has unveiled the full event schedule and purse for the 26th annual US Open at Lancaster Speedway on September 19-21.

Over $60,000 in cash and contingency awards will be on the table for the race teams competing in Western New York’s racing finale. The Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial 125 for the Race of Champions Modified Tour has a purse of over $21,000, including $4000 to the race winner.

Matt Hirschman of Northampton, PA is the defending race winner and looking for his third-straight Modified win at the US Open. RoC Tour points leader, Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, NY, leads the all-time US Open Modified win list with five victories.

Late Model racing returns to Lancaster for the 2014 edition of the US Open. The full-fendered stock cars were a part of every Open until last season, but Short Track Management CEO, Bill Catania, has reinstated the division. The 50-lap Late Model feature will pay $250 to start and $1500 to the winner (based on a field of 15 or more cars).

Five-time US Open Late Model feature winner, Bobby Weber of Clarence Center, NY, leads the list of favorites going into this year’s event.

The Sportsman Modifieds will headline the Saturday portion of US Open weekend with a 75-lap feature. A total of about 35-40 teams are expected to qualify for the 24 starting spots in the feature with $2000 on the line to the winner.

Andy Jankowiak of Tonawanda, NY has owned this event as of late with four-straight wins. Kirk Totten of Lockport, NY has won three Sportsman features at Lancaster this season including the Summer Slam 100 and is hungry for a first US Open victory. Totten’s father, Kirk Rutherford, is the US Open all-time feature win leader with six wins, all in the Sportsman division.

Sportsman and Late Models team have an extra bonus up for grabs courtesy of Bicknell Racing Products. One Sportsman team and one Late Model team will each win a $150 gift certificate good for products and services at the Bicknell Racing Products shop in Niagara Falls, NY.

The US Open weekend kicks off on Friday, September 19 with a practice session open to all divisions. Pit gates will open at 4 PM on Friday with practice beginning at 6 PM. Immediately after practice there will be a US Open Kickoff Party in the main concourse of the speedway. Grandstand admission is free for practice on Friday.

The pit gates will open at 1 PM on Saturday, September 20 with practice beginning at 3 PM for the divisions competing that night. The Legends, 4-Cylinders, Street Stock and Sportsman will all run heats and features on Saturday. The Late Models will also run their heat races on Saturday. Grandstand gates will open at 3 PM with racing beginning at 4:45 PM.

Following the conclusion of the Sportsman feature there will be a gigantic fireworks display by Gibson including a special tribute to Tommy Druar and Tony Jankowiak.

On Sunday, September 21 the pit gates will open at 9:30 AM with practice beginning at 10:30. Racing will start at 12:15 PM with heats and features for the TQ Midgets, Super Stocks and Race of Champions Modified Tour. The Late Models will also run their feature on Sunday.

For more information log on to www.lancasterusopen.com or call (336) 793-8465. Like the US Open on Facebook at facebook.com/theusopen and follow us on Twitter @LancasterUSOpen.

Short Track Management, LLC, located in Winston-Salem, NC, is promoting the US Open at Lancaster Speedway and owns the Stateline Speedway in Busti, NY.

The US OPEN – September 19, 20 & 21 – REVISED 9.4.2014
Lancaster Speedway, Lancaster, NY – Lancaster, New York

*All times and events subject to change


Friday 9/19
3:00pm Hauler Pre-Stage, Secure Facility
4:00pm Gates Open (Pit and Grandstand)
6:00pm Practice by Division (3 rounds per division, to conclude no later than 10:00 pm)
Conclusion of Practice US Open Kick Off Party Main Concourse
11:00pm Pit Area Closed / Secure Facitily

Saturday 9/20 12:00pm (noon) Hauler Pre-Stage, Secure Facility
1:00pm Pit Gates Open
3:00pm Grandstands Open
3:00pm Practice by Division (2 Rounds per division – Inner Oval divisions first)
4:40pm Opening Ceremonies (Invocation & Anthems)
4:45pm Legend and 4-Cylinder Qualifying Races (8-laps each) – Inner Oval
5:15pm Street Stock Qualifying Races (8-laps each)
5:30pm Sportsman Qualifying Races (10-laps each)
6:00pm Late Models Qualifying Races (10-laps each)
6:45pm Legends Feature (25-laps)
7:15pm 4-Cylinder Feature (25-laps) (One Victory Lane – 4-Cylinder / Legend Victory Lane together)
7:45pm Sportsman B-Main if necessary (12-laps)
8:00pm Street Stock Feature (25-laps) (Immediately Followed by Victory Lane)
8:30pm Sportsman Feature Line Up (Double File, Stopped Engines Off on Frontstretch)
8:50pm Sportsman Feature (75-laps)
9:30pm Sportsman Victory Lane
9:45pm Lights Out – Fireworks Begin
10:00 pm Events Conclude
11:00pm Pit Area Closed / Secure Facility

Sunday- 9/21 9:30 am Pit Gates Open
10:30am Practice by Division (2 Rounds per division – Inner Oval divisions first)
12:05pm Opening Ceremonies (Invocation & Anthems)
12:15pm T.Q. Midget Qualifying Races (8-laps each) – Inner Oval
12:45pm Big ‘10’ Qualifying Races (8-laps each)
1:15pm Race of Champions Modified Tour Qualifying Races – (10-laps each)
1:50pm TQ Midget Feature (25-laps) (Immediately Followed by Victory Lane)
2:10pm Late Model Feature (50-laps) (Immediately Followed by Victory Lane)
2:50pm Big ‘10’ Feature Race (35-laps – based on car count) (Immediately Followed by Victory Lane)
3:20pm Race of Champions Modified Tour Stages Feature on Frontstretch (Lemans Style)
3:30pm Race of Champions Modified Tour Driver Introductions
3:40pm Command to Start Engines (Druar & Jankowiak Families)
3:50pm Race of Champions Modified Tour Tommy Druar / Tony Jankowiak 125 Memorial (125-laps)
5:00pm Race of Champions Modified Tour Victory Lane
6:00pm Pit Area Closed / Secure Facility

US Open All-time feature winners
Compiled by Mark Southcott & Dave Buchanan

1989 Jan Leaty #25
1990 Tony Hirschman #11
1991 Reggie Ruggiero #69
1992 Rick Fuller #44
1993 Charlie Rudolph #72
1994 Duane Delamarter #17
1995 Sege Fidanza #77
1996 George Kent #60
1997 Sege Fidanza (2) #77
1998 Danny Knoll, Jr. #17
1999 Sege Fidanza (3) #77
2000 Tom McGrath #12
2001 Chuck Hossfeld #20
2002 Karl Hehr #59
2003 Zane Zeiner #76
2004 Tom McGrath (2) #12
2005 Eric Beers #9
2006 Chuck Hossfeld (2) #99H
2007 Chuck Hossfeld (3) #22
2008 Jan Leaty (2) #6
2009 Matt Hirschman #60
2010 Chuck Hossfeld (4) #22
2011 Chuck Hossfeld (5) #22
2012 Matt Hirschman (2) #60
2013 Matt Hirschman (3) #60

1992 Billy Putney #88
1993 Billy Putney (2) #88
1994 Billy Putney (3) #88
1995 Karl Hehr #59
1996 Kirk Rutherford #12
1997 Kirk Rutherford (2) #12
1998 Don Staubitz, Jr. #10
1999 Kirk Rutherford (3) #13
2000 Tommy Krawczyk #10
2001 Jerry Gradl, Jr. #2
2002 Kirk Rutherford (4) #95
2003 Bobby Holmes #8
2004 Earl Paules, Jr. #8
2005 Bill Hebing #7
2006 Kirk Rutherford (5) #11
2007 Kirk Rutherford (6) #11
2008 Erick Rudolph #12
2009 Todd Hoddick #49
2010 Andy Jankowiak #57
2011 Andy Jankowiak (2) #73
2012 Andy Jankowiak (3) #73
2013 Andy Jankowiak (4) #73

(Super Stock through 1995)
1989 Karl Hehr #59
1990 Jim Reid #76
1991 Bob Skora #56
1992 John Murrett #49
1993 Ron Nurmi #2
1994 John Julicher #09
1995 Bob Weber #11
1996 Joe Carbone #31
1997 Brett Scherrer #44
1998 Bob Weber (2) #11
1999 John Julicher (2) #09
2000 Tim Windnagle #61
2001 Vern Bliss #03
2002 Bob Weber (3) #11
2003 Vern Bliss (2) #03
2004 Vern Bliss (3) #03
2005 Mark Bliss #0
2006 Will Thomas #9
2007 Todd Hoddick #49
2008 Jeff Brown #3
2009 Bob Weber (4) #11
2010 Bob Weber (5) #11
2011 Scott Skora #56
2012 George Skora III #65
2013 NO RACE

  Source: Dave Buchanan / Lancaster US Open
Posted: September 4, 2014

©2013 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.