.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Southern Modified Race Tour




It's official! Tim Brown from Rural Hall, NC held off a hungry pack of drivers to claim the win in the inaugural event for the KOMA Unwind Modified Madness Series Saturday night at Hickory Motor Speedway.

The event lived up to expectations with twenty lead changes between five different drivers. Pit stop excitement, tire changes and confusion added to the overall picture painted for the first event.

Brown Josh Nichols, Burt and Jason Myers and young gun Spencer Davis all took turns leading the 125 lapper, with Brown and Burt Myers being at the point for the bulk of the laps but not one of the top five cars was able to gain a clear advantage. Caution flew on lap 19 for a front stretch spin by Jeremy Mayfield. Mayfield recovered and posted a solid finish in his first Modified event. Another brief caution when Renee Dupuis tagged the turn one wall did little to interrupt the action. The engine in Brian Weber's car exploded entering turn three bringing out the final caution of the night. Cale Gale's car failed to re-fire after the caution ending his night at the same time.

Southern Modified Race Tour rules allow for a tire change as well as require a mandatory pit stop and pit strategy came into play over the final 35 laps. Burt Myers pitted at lap 93 and took on a new right rear in hopes of forcing the issue for other drivers to pit. Nichols followed seven laps later with the same plans. However the remainder of the field only did stop & go stops and while Myers and Nichols make up considerable time with the new tires, the laps ran out and left Brown and Jason Myers at the head of the pack. Burt Myers finished third followed by Davis and Nichols. Jimmy Zacharias finished sixth followed by Zach Brewer, Mayfield, Mike Speeney and Bobby Sheffield.

The confusion stemmed from a mis-stated rule in the drivers meeting. "I made a mistake in the drivers meeting by telling teams when they could and could not stop during the event. No one caught the mistake and according to the Southern Modified race Tour Rule Book, the event must be run under the last rule covered. I have apologized to everyone and while everyone isn't 100% happy, most understand the situation. And I want to make the fans of Modified racing aware that this will not happen again, said series director, Randy Myers.

Finishing Order

  Fin. / Start / Car# / Driver / Hometown / Laps / Points
  1.   3  02  Tim Brown, Rural Hall, NC 125 170
  2.   1    4  Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, NC 125 140
  3.   2    6  Burt Myers, Kernersville, NC 125 135
  4.   9  79  Spencer Davis, Dahlonega, GA 125 130
  5.   4  34  Josh Nichols, Cleveland, NC 125 125
  6.   8 71z Jimmy Zacharias, Candor, NY 124 120
  7. 12  31  Zach Brewer, Winston-Salem, NC 124 116
  8. 11 71m Jeremy Mayfield, Sherrills Ford, NC 124 112
  9. 15  80  Mike Speeney, King, NC 123 113
10. 13    9  Bobby Sheffield, Mooresville, NC 122 104
11. 10    3  Danny Propst, Wingate, NC 121 100
12.   7    2  Joseph Brown, Lewisville, NC 119 98
13. 14  21  Tommy Neal, Walkertown, NC 117 96
14.   6  59  Renee Dupuis, Hebron, CT 46 94
15.   5  82  Cale Gale, Winston-Salem, NC 39 92
16. 16  01  Brian Weber, Mooresville, NC 38 90.


  Source: Hickory Speedway
Posted: March 25, 2014

2014 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.