.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
Icebreaker 150
Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park

Polly Reid

Woody Pitkat said earlier in the day, he had something to prove on the Tour. He also said how much he appreciated the opportunity to get behind the wheel of this car. After posting the fastest time in practice, Pitkat backed up his efforts at the Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, winning the NWMT Coors Light Pole in the #88 Buzz Chew Chevrolet.

Pitkat of Stafford, CT went out 12th in the qualifying order going to the top of the chart with a time of 18.724 that held up through the remainder of time trials.

It is Pitkat’s first career NWMT Coors Light Pole Award.

“The work that goes into these cars at the shop, the guys are there like 12 hours a day – it’s unbelievable how much time, effort and dedication it takes- everyone said from day one, that the races are won in the garage and it shows right now, the car is unbelievable.”

A call that Pitkat received over the off season began a highly anticipated start to the 2014 NWMT season. “When I got on the plane to go to NC for the banquet in November, the first person I saw that I knew was Mike Stefanik. He was sitting there- he didn’t say ‘Hi’ or anything. The first thing he said to me was, ‘you’re going to win some races in that car.’ To hear that from him, the number of championships that he has, the number of wins that he has, that gave me all the confidence in the world then.”

Pitkat acknowledges it takes time to gel with a new team and in their first outing; they are well on their way. “Everything has gone so well, it’s coming quicker than even I thought- to me, this is a dream come true for me to get such a great ride.”

“It’s awesome, to come out here and do it right away. Now it’s all on me to go out there and prove I can roll with everybody.”

Pitkat will lead the field to green tomorrow with Justin Bonsignore second, Donny Lia third, defending champion Ryan Preece fourth and Rowan Pennink fifth.

Patrick Emerling, Matt Hirschman, Keith Rocco and Bobby Santos round out the top ten in qualifying.

Source: Polly Reid / TheChromeHorn.com
Posted: April 5, 2014

©2014 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.