.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour



Outlasts Whelen Modified Tour Field For 10th Career Win

It took a little longer, but Doug Coby finally took the checkered flag for the TSI Harley-Davidson 125 Friday night at Stafford Motor Speedway in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour action.

The race was postponed twice by rain and then Coby, piloting the No. 2 Dunleavy’s Repair/HEX Performance Chevrolet, had to outlast Justin Bonsignore and Bobby Santos in a green-white-checkered finish that pushed the race to 130 laps.

It is Coby's 10th career win and sixth at the historic Connecticut half-mile. He took the lead Friday on Lap 7. Santos edged Coby at the line on the final restart but Coby powered back into the lead en route to winning for the fifth time in the last 10 races at Stafford.

Bonsignore got past Santos for second on the final lap. Santos had won the Coors Light Pole Award when qualifying was originally held on May 23.

Rowan Pennink and Woody Pitkat were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Ron Silk finished sixth, followed by Patrick Emerling, Ted Christopher, Ryan Preece and Glen Reen.

It’s been quite the start to 2014 for Coby since he moved to MSIII Racing in the offseason. They won on the short track at Daytona International Speedway in their first outing together during Speedweeks, and since the points season started they’ve recorded finishes of third, second and now first.

“This car has been awesome every time we’ve taken it out, we’re really clicking” Coby said. “It was a move that was difficult for me to make, but I’m happy with this [No.] 2 car.”

With the win, Coby took over the points lead from Bonsignore, 132-128. Pitkat is third in the standings after three races at 123.

The win for Coby also broke a streak of 11-consecutive seasons in which a different driver has won the second Stafford race on the Whelen Modified Tour schedule. The Milford, Connecticut driver also won this event in 2012 during his championship campaign.

The race was slowed by caution just three times, and the first didn’t come out until Lap 104. In 112 all-time Whelen Modified Tour races at Stafford, there still has yet to be a caution-free contest.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will be back in action Saturday, June 21 with the Mr. Rooter 161 at Connecticut's Waterford Speedbowl.


NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour-TSI Harley-Davidson 125 - Unofficial Results
Friday At Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford, Conn.
Lap length:
0.5 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (2) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 130 laps, 73.446 mph.
  2.   (9) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, NY, Chevrolet, 130.
  3.   (1) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Chevrolet, 130.
  4.   (6) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 130.
  5. (10) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Chevrolet, 130.
  6.   (4) Ron Silk, Norwalk, CT, Chevrolet, 130.
  7.   (5) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, NY, Chevrolet, 130.
  8. (17) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 130.
  9. (13) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Ford, 130.
10. (15) Glen Reen, Wilbraham, Mass., Chevrolet, 130.
11.   (3) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 130.
12. (12) Ron Yuhas, Jr., Groton, Conn., Chevrolet, 130.
13. (11) Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Chevrolet, 130.
14. (16) Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA, Chevrolet, 129.
15.   (8) Donny Lia, Jericho, NY, Dodge, 129.
16. (21) Shawn Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Chevrolet, 127.
17. (18) Dave Salzarulo, Monson, Mass., Chevrolet, 126.
18. (23) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Pontiac, 124.
19. (22) Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn., Chevrolet, 123.
20.   (7) Tommy Barrett, Jr., Millis, Mass., Chevrolet, 112, accident.
21. (19) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 112, accident.
22. (24) Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H., Chevrolet, 108.
23. (20) Ken Heagy, Calverton, N.Y., Ford, 101, steering.
24. (14) Keith Rocco, Wallingford, Conn., Chevrolet, 81, engine.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
0 hours 53 minutes 6 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.394 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: B. Santos (98.216 mph, 18.327 seconds)
Caution Flags: 3 for 19 laps.
Lead Changes: 3 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: B. Santos 1-6; D. Coby 7-126; B. Santos 127-128; D. Coby 129-130.

Standings: 1. D. Coby, 132; 2. J. Bonsignore, 128; 3. W. Pitkat, 123; 4. B. Santos, 116; 5. T. Christopher, 110; 6. R. Silk, 109; 7. T. Solomito, 107; 8. R. Pennink, 106; 9. E. Goodale, 102; 10. R. Yuhas, Jr., 98.


  Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
Posted: June 6, 2014

2007-2014  © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent