.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour



Scores Whelen Southern Mod Win After Last-Lap Fireworks

Burt Myers got his first NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour win of 2014 Saturday night after a contentious last-lap battle with George Brunnhoelzl III.
The 38-year-old Walnut Cove, North Carolina, native drove to Victory Lane in the Bayport Credit Union 150 at Langley Speedway in the second race of the year for the tour at the .396-mile track.

Myers was running second to George Brunnhoelzl III on the final lap when the two made contact coming out of Turn 4. Myers crossed the line first as Brunnhoelzl bounced off the outside wall and spun across the track. After a video review of the incident, NASCAR officials upheld Myers’ win and Brunnhoelzl was scored in second.

Myers said the situation was nothing more than two drivers racing hard for the win.

“I got in to him (Brunnhoelzl) a little bit but it wasn’t anything intentional it was just hard racing,” Myers said. “I am relieved that NASCAR reviewed the footage (after the race).”

It was Burt Myers' first win since the 2013 season finale on the quarter-mile at Charlotte Motor Speedway and the 2010 champion added that he considers Brunnhoelzl a friend.

“We were both racing as hard as we could. I didn’t shove him off in the corner and I didn’t hook him. Coming in the corner we were both sideways and I gave him a little nudge and it was enough to get him wiggled and get by him,” Myers said.

An emotional Brunnhoelzl, who won at Langley in the spring race, felt differently about the outcome of the race.

“With five laps to go he (Myers) was on me and then he got into me and I’ll just leave it at that,” Brunnhoelzl said.

Championship points leader Andy Seuss finished third, followed by J.R. Bertuccio and Jason Myers.

For Seuss, he was happy with a third-place finish after a disappointing run in Bristol a few weeks ago.

“It was the first race with the new changed tire and I think we missed a little bit on the set up and I think Burt was the class of the field,” Seuss said. “We are just going to keep working on getting top 3’s and work on our pit strategy.”

The series now provides drivers in the Whelen Southern Modified Tour the opportunity to pit and change one tire at any point during the race.

Ryan Preece was fastest in practice and won his second straight Coors Light Pole Award at Langley during qualifying.

Preece led the first 62 laps but was passed by Brunnhoelzl on the restart after the race’s third caution on lap 63.

Brunnhoelzl and Preece exchanged the lead and brought the fans to their feet between laps 63-66 before Brunnhoelzl finally took control and remained out front until Myers passed him on Lap 85.

David Calabrese took over the top spot when he stayed out while the leaders made pit stops on Lap 97. Calabrese stayed in front until Brunnhoelzl took the lead on Lap 115 where he remained until the final lap of the event.

After eight races, Seuss leads Brunnhoelzl by 14. Bertuccio is 29 behind Seuss, while both Burt Myers and Danny Bohn are 39 back.

Kyle Ebersole, Bohn, Gary Putnam, Preece and Luke Fleming rounded out the top 10 at Langley.

The race featured seven lead changes among four drivers. Preece, the defending NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, led a race-high 64 laps, while Brunnhoelzl led 55 laps.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour continues its stretch of seven races in as many weeks next Friday, Sept. 5 at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, North Carolina. Seuss won at the track on July 4 and will be going after his third consecutive win at the track this season and sixth over the past two years.


NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour-Bayport Credit Union 150 Results
Saturday At Langley Speedway, Hampton, Va.
Lap length:
0.396 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (7) Burt Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 150 laps, 66.679 mph.
  2.   (3) George Brunnhoelzl, III, West Babylon, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  3.   (5) Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H., Chevrolet, 150.
  4. (11) JR Bertuccio, Centereach, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  5.   (4) Jason Myers, Walnut Cove, N.C., Ford, 150.
  6.   (6) Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, Pa., Ford, 150.
  7.   (2) Danny Bohn, Freehold, NJ, Chevrolet, 150.
  8. (15) Gary Putnam, Vernon, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  9.   (1) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
10.   (8) Luke Fleming, Mount Airy, N.C., Ford, 150.
11. (17) David Calabrese, Toms River, N.J., Chevrolet, 150.
12. (14) Bobby Measmer, Jr., Concord, N.C., Chevrolet, 150.
13. (10) Thomas Stinson, Chester, Va., Chevrolet, 149.
14. (13) Spencer Davis, Dawsonville, Ga., Pontiac, 148.
15.   (9) A.J. Winstead, Bon Air, Va., Chevrolet, 148.
16. (16) Mike Norman, Lewisville, N.C., Chevrolet, 148.
17. (12) Joe Ryan Osborne, Holland, Pa., Chevrolet, 40, ignition.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
53 minutes 27 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.311 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: R. Preece (94.687 mph, 15.056 seconds)
Caution Flags: 6 for 31 laps.
Lead Changes: 7 among 4 drivers.
Lap Leaders: R. Preece 1-62; G. Brunnhoelzl III 63; R. Preece 64-65; G. Brunnhoelzl III 66-84; B. Myers 85-96; D. Calabrese 97-114; G. Brunnhoelzl III 115-149; B. Myers 150.

Standings: 1. A. Seuss, 343; 2. G. Brunnhoelzl III, 329; 3. J. Bertuccio, 314; 4. B. Myers, 304; 5. D. Bohn, 304; 6. L. Fleming, 300; 7. G. Putnam, 283; 8. J. Myers, 278; 9.K. Ebersole, 277; 10. S. Davis, 275.


  Source: Tim Southers / NASCAR
Posted: August 30, 2014

©2014 GeeLaw Motorsports/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.