.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - RoC Asphalt Modified Tour


Mancuso, Bainbridge, Jankowiak Also Pick Up Feature Wins

When Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, NY made his first foray into stock car racing after some successful years in go-karts, one of his biggest supporters was the late Bill Colton, Jr. Hossfeld spent a season wheeling a Street Stock before graduating to the Modifieds at Lancaster National Speedway, and Colton was there to mentor and support the future champion.

Hossfeld got to pay tribute to his fallen friend on Thursday night at Lancaster as he captured the inaugural edition of the “Ol’ Boy” Cup Bill Colton Memorial 60 presented by Quaker Steak & Lube Race of Champions Modified Tour event.

Hossfeld led nearly every lap of the race after starting from the outside pole position. Matt Hirschman finished second followed by Patrick Emerling, Andy Jankowiak and Jimmy Zacharias.

Jankowiak led the field to the initial green flag with Hossfeld to his outside. The pair traded the lead back and forth during the opening laps until Hossfeld took control for good on lap four. Jankowiak remained glued to Hossfeld’s back bumper until the caution flag flew for the fourth time of the night on lap 16. It was during the caution period that Jankowiak gave up the runner-up spot to make a pit stop.

This handed second place to Tony Hanbury in the Kurzejewski Racing #21, who had quickly moved up from the tenth starting position. Hanbury, the defending winner of the U.S. Open, looked poised to give Hossfeld a run for the top spot until contact with TJ Potrzebowski on lap 33 sent him spinning in turn two.

Hanbury’s trouble moved Hirschman into second place followed by Emerling and Zacharias. The stage appeared to be set for another chapter in the storied rivalry between Hossfeld and Hirschman, but Hossfeld slowly pulled away from the field as the race entered its final stages.

The one person on the race track that appeared to be faster than Hossfeld in the closing laps was Jankowiak. He had worked his way back through the field following his pit stop, and was in fourth place when the yellow flag flew for the final time on lap 51 for a spin by Bryan Sherwood.

Jankowiak’s comeback effort ran out of steam, however, after the final restart as the handling of the car appeared to have gone away.

Hossfeld ran the final laps unopposed as he cruised to the win for his second Race of Champions Modified Tour victory of 2015.

“Bill Colton (Jr.) was just a friend to auto racing and great friend to myself personally,” said Hossfeld. “I still have sponsors he helped me to get years and years ago, and without him I wouldn’t be racing.”

The Big 10 Super Stocks made their second visit of the season to Lancaster, and for the second race in a row it was Joe Mancuso of Buffalo scoring the win. Mancuso once again had to contend with Jake Wylie to secure the victory. Wylie led the race until he got caught in lap traffic on lap 12, and was passed by Mancuso.

Kevin Bainbridge captured his second win of the year in the 4-Cylinders. Bainbridge led all 20 laps after starting on the outside of the front tow. Frank Prell held off Bobby Woch in the race for second to earn his best finish of the season.

Andy Jankowiak won a 10-lap exhibition race for the Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club.

Seneca Resorts & Casinos Saturday Stock Car program resumes June 27 with the Xpress Signs Late Models making their season debut. The Sportsman, Street Stocks, TQ Midgets and a “Run What Ya Brung” open rules 4-Cylinder race are also on the race card. Plus, it is Ladies Night with $1.00 grandstand admission for all females plus a 4-Cylinder Ladies Race. Racing starts at 6:30 PM.

Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, NY. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag, a 5/8-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our all-new website www.lancasternationalspeedway.com. Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/LancasterSpeedway) and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).


Heat Winners: Rusty Smith, Mike Leaty, Matt Hirschman, Andy Jankowiak
“Ol’ Boy” Cup 60 presented by Quaker Steak & Lube Finish: CHUCK HOSSFELD, Matt Hirschman, Patrick Emerling, Andy Jankowiak, Jimmy Zacharias, Bobby Holmes, Rusty Smith, Daren Scherer, Tony Hanbury, Mike Leaty, Tyler Rypkema, Tommy Cloce, George Skora III, Roger Coss, Amy Catalano, TJ Potrzebowski, Bryan Sherwood, Jim Storace, Kirk Totten, Karl Hehr, TJ Zacharias, Tommy Catalano, Donny Hartzell, Chris Ridsdale, Dave Rigan, Todd Lorenzo, Sam Fullone, Daryl Lewis, Jr.

Heat Winners:
Jake Wylie, Joe Mancuso
Feature: JOE MANCUSO, Jake Wylie, Zach Willis, Ron Richter, Vern Hedderick, Dennis London, Pete Pieczynski, Tom Zacharias DQ: Ryan Lagoda, Jake Lyon DNS: Chuck Tripp, Mitchell Wright

Heat Winners:
Chris Bugenhagen, Kevin Bainbridge
Feature: KEVIN BAINBRIDGE, Frank Prell, Bobby Woch, Joe Brunka, Chris Pennell, Chris Bugenhagen, Rich Bartel, Tim Durfy, Dave Anasiewicz, Garrett Cleversley, James Hill, Cody Cutitta, Don Brzezowsko

Heat Winners:
Paul McCarthy
Feature: ANDY JANKOWIAK, Paul McCarthy, Chic Voit, Leslie Morden
  Source: Dave Buchanan / Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway
Posted: June 26, 2015

2007-2015  © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent