.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - RoC Asphalt Modified Tour


Sharpe and Piasecki Return To Victory Lane

The return of the ground pounding, mighty Modifieds brought the fans out to Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway on Saturday for the Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial 110 Race of Champions Modified Tour event. The crowd was one of the biggest in recent years at the Western New York racing facility.

Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, NY scored his first career Modified feature win at Lancaster as he captured the 110-lap feature.

Emerling inherited the lead for good on lap 76 when Matt Hirschman pitted under caution for tires. He led the final 34 laps and survived a late-race challenge from Chuck Hossfeld to secure the victory.

Daren Scherer and former track champion, Dave Wollaber, led the field to the initial green flag. Scherer jumped out to the early race lead followed by Tyler Rypkema, Bobby Holmes, Hirschman and Tony Hanbury.

Hirschman quickly picked his way through the top five and was up to second by lap 12. Four laps later he was able to pass Scherer for the top spot. Chuck Hossfeld eventually landed in the runner-up position, and both he and Hirschman pulled away from the rest of the field.

The fourth caution of the race came on lap 31 when Tommy Catalano came to a stop in turn three. It was during this yellow flag period that Emerling pitted for right side tires. He was running in seventh place at the time.

Hirschman and Hossfeld continued to dominate the proceedings until the yellow flag flew again on lap 56. Hossfeld took this opportunity to pit for tires under caution, as did many of the other front running cars. Hirschman and Andy Jankowiak elected stay out and were the only two cars remaining in the field that had yet to make a pit stop. This also moved Emerling into third as he was one of the first cars to pit.

Hossfeld’s night almost came to an end just two laps after he made his pit stop. On lap 60, Hossfeld cut down a left rear tire and spun out in turn two. He was able to continue, but Karl Hehr and Rusty Smith crashed in the melee that ensued behind Hossfeld.

When racing resumed Hirschman and Jankowiak paced the field. Hirschman racked up two lap leader bonuses while he dominated the middle portion of the event. He earned $370 for leading lap 37, in memory of Tommy Druar. Hirschman then pocketed $730, in memory of Tony Jankowiak, for leading lap 73. The bonus money was put up by racing supporter, Howie Markel.

Hirschman and Jankowiak finally made their pit stop for tires on lap 76 when Paul Hartwig, Jr. brought out the caution flag. This handed the lead over to Emerling, who was followed by Holmes, Hossfeld, Hanbury and Mike Leaty. Hossfeld passed Holmes for second on lap 80 and then set his sights on Emerling.

The final caution period of the night happened on lap 100 when Tommy Cloce stopped on the track with a flat tire. This set up a ten lap shootout to the finish between Emerling and Hossfeld.

Emerling managed to hold off Hossfeld long enough to take the checkered flag first. Jankowiak made his way back to third by race’s end after restarting fifth with ten laps to go. Hirschman had to settle for fourth, while Hanbury rounded out the top five.

“I knew it was going to be a hard fight battle holding off Chuck,” said Emerling, “at the beginning of the race we had flat right front which made us come in a little early than expected but it worked out for us.”

The win was Emerling’s third of the year on the Race of Champions Modified Tour. He also extended his series points lead over Hossfeld and Hirschman.

“If we didn’t get that left rear flat I think we would’ve been better,” said Hossfeld, “you make adjustments thinking that tire is going to have 50 or 60 laps on it, and then you put a tire on it and changes the balance.”

The Race of Champions Modified Tour returns to Lancaster for the U.S. Open on Sunday, September 27.

In other action for the Seneca Resorts & Casinos Saturday Night Stock Car program, Rich Sharpe of Lancaster remained perfect in the Street Stocks with his fifth-straight win. Sharpe took the lead from a Jerome Hruby on a lap six restart and drove away from the field for his sixth win since last season’s U.S. Open.

The Street Stock division had their biggest car count of the season with 19 cars in the pits. Dave Wilson, Jr. finished second followed by Mark Hoch, Keith Flanigan and Hruby.

Al Piasecki picked up his first win of the season in the 4-Cylinders in dominant fashion. He nearly led all 20 laps while on route to the win. Rich Bartel finished second with Bobby Woch, Chris Pennell and Chris Bugenhagen rounding out the top five.

The stock car action continues at Lancaster on August 22 with our second autograph night of the season. Fans will be able to go on the track during intermission and meet their favorite drivers. The Super Stocks will join the Sportsman, Street Stocks and 4-Cylinders on the race card. Racing begins at 6:30 PM.

Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, NY. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag, a 5/8-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our all-new website www.lancasternationalspeedway.com. Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/LancasterSpeedway) and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).

Heat Winners: Daren Scherer, Patrick Emerling, Matt Hirschman
Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial 110 Finish: PATRICK EMERLING, Chuck Hossfeld, Andy Jankowiak, Matt Hirschman, Tony Hanbury, Bobby Holmes, Mike Leaty, Daren Scherer, Nick Pecko, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Brian DeFebo, Rick KLuth, Jimmy Zacharias, Tommy Cloce, Roger Coss, Chris Risdale, Paul Hartwig, Jr., TJ Potrzebowski, Sam Fullone, Karl Hehr, Rusty Smith, Bryan Sherwood, Tommy Catalano, Tyler Rypkema, Dave Wollaer, Bill Mislin DNS: Amy Catalano

Heat Winners:
Nate Straus, Jerome Hruby
Feature: RICH SHARPE, Dave Wilson, Jr., Mark Hoch, Keith Flanigan, Jerome Hruby, Dave Vona, Ken Maltby, Kenny Hejna, Nate Straus, Heather Weber, Gary Bartella, Rick Ortwein, Jr., Mike Dalfonso, Sr., Ed Culliton. Terry Weldy, Richard Meyers, Mark Annis, Jr. DQ: Dennis Londos

Heat Winners:
Al Piasecki, Tim Durfy
Feature: AL PIASECKI, Rich Bartel, Bobby Woch,ch,ch, Chris Pennell, Chris Bugenhagen, Frank Prell, Tim Durfy, Tom Lalomia, Jr., Jessica Dadswell, Joe Brunka, Don Brzezowski, Dave Anasiewicz DNS: Matt Druar DQ; Kevin Bainbridge
  Source: Dave Buchanan / Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway
Posted: August 15, 2015

2007-2015  © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent