.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2016
   The Chrome Horn -  Modified Touring Series


by Denise DuPont

With a little more than a month before the season opener at Monadnock Speedway, April 22nd, Modified Touring Series (MTS) officials and race teams are hard at work preparing for the new race season. The objective of this newly formed series is to bring back the glory to modified racing in the Northeast. The initial race at Monadnock will launch the first race season for this New England’s modified racing touring series.

The MTS has a ten race schedule planned, which besides four races at Monadnock Speedway, there are two at Stafford Motor Speedway, two at New London Waterford Speedbowl and one at both Seekonk Speedway and Riverhead Raceway. There are approximately twenty teams have registered to date for the 2017 campaign.

Noted car builder/owner Art Barry, a member of the New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame, and the New York State Stock Car Racing Hall of Fame, will field a car in the series, a move he is anxiously looking forward too. Barry has fielded race cars for well over 50 years for some of the sports best drivers. Barry is joined by other noted racing families to make up the MTS Owners and Drivers Committee that is working with the series officials to define rules, processes, procedures and regulations for the touring:. Charlie Pasteryak, Kirk Alexander, Jon McKennedy, Rob Walendy, Gary Casella and Peter Kulessa are the other members of the MTS Committee.

The MTS series anticipate several modified teams will show up for to qualify at the debut race at Monadnock. Upwards of thirty-five cars are expected to enter.

Series founders, Gary and Alichia Knight greeted race teams at Stafford Motor Speedway clubhouse on Saturday March 4th to introduce the MTS staff and to go over the 2017 complied rule book. The Tech Director is Bobby Carrita and his staff is made up of Terry Battle, Wayne Numnes, Brian Kowalyshyn and Theresa Carrita. Ed Flemke has the role of Race Control with Wayne Wildermuth as both Race Control and Spotter Communication. Additional staff members are Peggy Brehio – Scoring, Chan Stevens – Flagger, Crystal Snape – Photography and Arthur Chartier – Tires.

During the pre-season meeting particular rules were discussed:

- The point system will be based on the car owner, not the driver.
- No 50 lb. weight break for the steel head motor.
- No spring rubber mounts on the left front will be permitted for qualifying or competition.
- No traction control allowed. If caught, loss of total points to date, money won for that date and one year car owner suspension including a $5,000 fine and reinstatement fees at the end of the one year suspension.
- Any traction control found will be confiscated.
- No sway bar adjustments, coil spring/spring rubbers or rear spoiler adjustments.
- During a red flag there will be no working on cars permitted. Once the track conditions are deemed safe and a track lane is clear, a red/yellow flag will be displayed. At that time crews will be allowed to work on their cars even though the accident site is being worked on.
- Spotters must have two way communication with their driver and also the ability to monitor race control.
- Lucky dog will start at the tail end of the field. Once the free pass is given the free pass car can pit.
- Every race will have a mandatory autograph session for the drivers.
- Every race will have a Sunoco top ten redraw.
- An official Quest for the Cup process was defined based on the series ten race schedule.
- Also defined was a formal appeal process and board. The appeal’s board will be made up of five members that are not affiliated with MTS management or any race team.

With thirty-eight pages in the rules book, an Appeals Process, Quest for the Cup procedures among the series many documents. I would recommend that you go the MTS official website and check out the documents available, schedule and any special announcements.

Drivers that have expressed an interest in competing in the series to date are: Ted Christopher, Kirk Alexander, Chris Pasteryak, Ryan Preece, Tommy Barrett, Jon McKennedy, Richard Savary, Joe Doucette, Dylan Kopec, Jeff Gallup, and drivers to be announced for the Art Barry #21 team and Gary Casella #25 team.

As the cold is replaced with warmer weather and we spring the clocks ahead- we now have another venue for modified racing in the Northeast to look forward to.

See you at Monadnock Speedway on April 22nd for the unveiling of the new touring series and all that it brings with it.
Source: Denise DuPont / TheChromeHorn.com
Posted: March 5, 2017

2007-2017  © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent