.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour


Passes Hirschman Late To Claim NASCAR Whelen Modified Win

A spectacular summer for Ryan Preece continued Saturday night at Oswego Speedway in the Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s.

The Berlin, Connecticut, native took his fifth checkered flag of the season. Preece took the lead from Matt Hirschman on Lap 114 and never looked back.

“We came in and made a little bit of an adjustment because I felt he [Hirschman] was better in the first half,” said Preece of the halftime stop. "We were good. Just kind of tried to make him go hard the whole time.”

The victory was the 20th of Preece’s Whelen Modified Tour career and the first at Oswego. Preece ran up front all race long. After qualifying fourth, Preece quickly made his way up to second. On Lap 114, Preece dove underneath Hirschman in turn three. After taking the lead, Preece pulled away, with no one able to challenge the 25-year-old.

Preece took the checkers 2.849 seconds ahead of Hirschman. Earlier in the day, Hirschman won his second straight Coors Light Pole Award and went to lead a race-high 117 laps.

Preece also extended his point lead to nine over Doug Coby. Rowan Pennink is third, 16 points behind Preece and one ahead of Timmy Solomito.

Justin Bonsignore was sixth at Oswego and is six points behind Solomito. Craig Lutz, Max Zachem, Dave Sapienza and Pennink rounded out the top 10 at Oswego.

The Toyota Mod Classic 150 will air on NBCSN Thursday, Sept. 7 at 6 p.m.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track Saturday, Sept. 16, at Riverhead Raceway in New York.
  NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour - Toyota MOD Classic 150 pres by McDonalds Results
Saturday At Oswego Speedway, Oswego, N.Y.
Lap length:
0.625 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (4) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Chevrolet, 150 laps, 95.935 mph.
  2.   (1) Matt Hirschman, Northampton, PA, Chevrolet, 150.
  3.   (3) Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Ford, 150.
  4.   (5) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  5. (12) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  6.   (7) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, NY, Chevrolet, 150.
  7.   (8) Craig Lutz, Miller Place, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  8. (15) Max Zachem, Preston, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  9.   (9) Dave Sapienza, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
10.   (6) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 150.
11. (10) Rob Summers, Manchester, CT, Chevrolet, 150.
12. (13) Matt Swanson, Acton, Mass., Ford, 150.
13. (16) Ronnie Williams, Ellington, Conn., Chevrolet, 149.
14. (14) Gary Putnam, Vernon, Conn., Chevrolet, 148.
15. (18) Calvin Carroll, Newton, N.J., Chevrolet, 146.
16. (20) Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn., Ford, 141.
17. (17) Ted Christopher, Plainville, Conn., Chevrolet, 107, accident.
18.   (2) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, NY, Chevrolet, 86, handling.
19. (21) Walter Sutcliffe Jr., East Haven, Conn., Chevrolet, 57, clutch.
20. (11) Kyle Ebersole, Hummelstown, PA., Chevrolet, 38, electrical.
21. (19) Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H., Chevrolet, 33, engine.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
0 hours 58 minutes 38 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.849 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: M. Hirschman (127.551 mph, 17.64 seconds)
Caution Flags: 3 for 14 laps.
Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: M. Hirschman 1-117; R. Preece 118-150.

Standings: 1. R. Preece, 460; 2. D. Coby, 451; 3. R. Pennink, 444; 4. T. Solomito, 443; 5. J. Bonsignore, 437;
6. E. Goodale, 418; 7. D. Sapienza, 387; 8. M. Swanson, 380; 9. M. Zachem, 373; 10. R. Summers, 360..

Source: Jason Christley / NASCAR
: September 2, 2017

2007-2017 © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent