.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour


Veteran Uses Lapped Traffic To Earn NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Win

Sometimes when you don't have the best car a driver must rely on instincts and experience to get the win.

Defending NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby used both and it paid big dividends for the veteran at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The 38-year-old used lapped traffic in Turn 4 with 11 laps remaining in the 150-lap feature to get by Danny Bohn and win the Southern Slam 150.

The Milford, Connecticut, native started from the front after winning the Coors Light Pole earlier in the day and jumped out to an early lead. The five time Tour champion held back a charging Ryan Preece, the defending race winner, and Corey LaJoie on many occasions within the first half of the race.

Bohn was able to pass Coby on a restart on Lap 81 on the outside and stayed out front until Coby made his bold move to get back in front and hold on for his 24th career win.

Bohn ened up second while rookie Calvin Carroll finished third. Jamie Tomaino rebounded after being involved in the first caution of the race on the green flag lap to finish fourth and Bobby Measmer Jr. completed the top five.

NASCAR K&N Pro Series West rookie Derek Kraus finished sixth with CJ Lehmann, Lauren Edgerton, LaJoie and Preece rounding out the top 10.

The race was slowed three times by caution for 13 laps. Preece and LaJoie both fell out of the race due to mechanical issues ending their pursuit for a win.

The victory was the second of the season for Coby, who will head back to Connecticut for the Sunoco World Series 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park with a shot at the tour championship.
  NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Southern Slam - Charlotte 150 Results
Friday At Charlotte Motor Speedway, Concord, NC
Lap length:
0.25 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (1) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 150 laps, 51.040 mph.
  2.   (2) Danny Bohn, Freehold, N.J., Chevrolet, 150.
  3. (10) Calvin Carroll, Newton, N.J., Chevrolet, 149.
  4.   (8) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 149.
  5.   (3) Bobby Measmer, Jr., Concord, N.C., Chevrolet, 148.
  6.   (5) Derek Kraus, Stratford, WI, Chevrolet, 147.
  7.   (9) CJ Lehmann, Jim Thorpe, Penn., Chevrolet, 147.
  8. (12) Lauren Edgerton, Chesterfield, Va., Chevrolet, 141.
  9.   (6) Corey LaJoie, Concord, N.C., Chevrolet, 109, brakes.
10.   (4) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Chevrolet, 80, brakes.
11. (11) Jeremy Gerstner, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Chevrolet, 66, accident.
12.   (7) Trey Hutchens, III, Lexington, N.C., Ford, 58, rear end.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
0 hours 44 minutes 5 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.049 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: D. Coby (59.168 mph, 15.211 seconds)
Caution Flags: 3 for 13 laps.
Lead Changes: 3 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: D. Bohn 1; D. Coby 2-84; D. Bohn 85-138; D. Coby 139-150.
Source: Jason Christley / NASCAR
: October 6, 2017

2007-2017  GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent